THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, June 24, 2003 - 4:02 p.m.

It's summer!

It's like the last days of school here.

Yesterday we put to bed a "special" double issue that will be on newstands for two weeks, meaning we don't face more deadlines next Monday. We have a very light load the rest of this week and many people have taken some or all of the days off. For those of us here, there was laughing and shouting and talking and a little work stuff sprinkled in here and there. I cleaned my desk. Windex and all.

We were just told to leave at 4.

But there's the craziest thing happening: It's sunny. And hot. I mean Hot. It's in the 80s and humid, with more of the same called for tomorrow and Thursday. "It'll feel like 100," the weather people said this morning. "Has anyone heard of 'moderation'?" Casey asked this morning when the Weather Channel gave us the forecast for the week. It's been so weird to go from rainy and cold to summer in a matter of days. I got into my car for lunch, and it was sweltering and stuffy and I couldn't touch my steering wheel � it was so hot, and my windshield sun shade is still in the closet in the study/office/spare bedroom because there's been no need for it.

So I spent the day cleaning, checking one spread that did get around today for perusal, and uploading more CDs onto iTunes. I figure if work's going to be slow this week, I can make some CDs. I want to revisit the USA songs idea I did back in the day when I made tapes. Only now the challenge is getting them on CD or mp3 format, since I used tapes a lot for that. And where 50 songs took two cassettes back then, they'll probably take three CDs now.

My criteria, in order of importance:

1. The songs must say the name of the state. (This is a point I refuse to bend.)

2. The state name should, preferably, be in the title. This makes it challenging, particularly for Hawaii, Alaska, New Hampshire, etc.

3. Try not to duplicate artists. (If I'm using Springsteen for "Jersey Girl," I can't use him for "Mary Queen of Arkansas.") An exception may be made because "Wild Montana Skies" is the perfect song for the state, but "Rocky Mountain High" is also perfect for Colorado.

I'll see how it all plays out once I start collecting the tracks.

OK, 3:59 by my watch. I'm going to go read Potter in the sun or something.

Previous page: SLOW -- children reading
Next page: My mellow 20

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?