THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, March 25, 2004 - 2:19 p.m.

Another important scientific study

Rutgers likes to call itself "The State University of New Jersey." Instead of a New Jersey State, we have Rutgers. I'm all for education, so it doesn't bother me that some of my tax dollars go toward public schools and universities.

But I have to chuckle when a few cents of my paychecks are helping fund research on The Simpsons.

What makes the study so amusing, in my mind, is that they needed 63 randomly chosen episodes to come up with their assessment. Granted, any scientific � or "scientific" � study needs an adequate sample size from which to draw the data, but it must be hard to keep a straight face when you tell someone you have to watch 31 hours of The Simpsons for research.

This is a great article because it gets both sides of the story � comments from those who think it's ridiculous to think that The Simpsons will influence behavior. Right, like I'm going to try to jump a gorge in a skateboard because Homer tried it. There are commercials that are more dangerous to the behavior of viewers � particularly children � than a week of Simpsons reruns on Fox.

Previous page: There'll be no baseball talk here
Next page: On home improvement and DVDs

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?