THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, July 31, 2002 - 1:45 p.m.

I almost used "homage" twice in one entry

Hee -- watching SNL reruns on Comedy Central and Conan O'Brien is in a sketch about a compilation CD of Irish drinking songs. Which is a real compilation CD now. Well, not with the "songs" they have on the show, but there is an Irish Drinking Songs CD.

So now it's back to regular entries, what with the trip recap completed and all. Only, take a look at my profile and you will see that this is Entry No. 499. You know what that means -- I can read. And much like I did with Entry No. 250 (that's the "Best of Dano" link to your left), I'm going to look back on my greatest hits. Only this one will have a twist: Not only will I give you my favorite passages of the last 250 entries, I am opening up the phone lines for your requests. Since the 500th Entry Celebration should, naturally, be twice the celebration of the 250th Entry Celebration, I'm inviting everyone to submit their favorites. (That was Heather's suggestion, by the way.) So e-mail me (dano[at]diaryland.com) with your favorites, whether it's a short quote, an entire entry, a title, a series. Put the URL in there too, if you would, to streamline my compilation process. While I'm limiting my favorites for No. 500 to the last 250 entries, you may select from any of the previous 498 (I doubt there's much to consider in this one).

In homage to our dear, departed Quoted, I will list your responses with your links (if you have them; all are invited to participate, however).

Speaking of Quoted, this is the day, I am sad to say, wherein I must delete her from my favorites list. I prefer to keep only up-to-date diaries on my list, and although her hiatus is due to circumstances outside of her control, I have decided to move forward. I've also decided to start the search for some new favorites. I haven't been reading any diaries lately outside of the select few I read religiously, and I think it's time to expand my voyeuristic horizons.

There is not much else to say. There is a whole roommate situation I could go into, but I have no desire to do that. (It's good and bad: the weird one has moved out, so there's more space and we didn't like her, but if Lori leaves too,

Casey and I are stuck with more rent than we'd like.) I'm off today and Casey and I are going into the city to a happy hour of journalistic folk, so maybe I can network. I'm no good at it, so I'm hoping a conversation about the Mets or Notre Dame will turn into, "I'll look forward to getting your resume tomorrow." That shouldn't be too hard to do.

I could also just make this an entry of random thoughts. I have a few today.

> I like the nod to Jane Curtain that Tina Fey signs off "Weekend Update" with: "Good night, and have a pleasant tomorrow."

> I don't like how the style of date I use abbreviates the short months that shouldn't be abbreviated: Jun. for June, Jul. for July. I fixed this one, but I'm not going back to the others.

> I don't like Macs. I can't write entries in Word and post them; the dashes and quotation marks don't show up on the page. And I never remember to write my offline entries in text applications.

> I don't like my job. That's not really so much a random thought as it is a constant throbbing pain, figuratively.

> I wish I could remember the Kids In The Hall submarine sketch. It was pretty funny.

> I've preordered The Simpsons season two DVD and I'm excited. I'm telling everyone.

> I'm still tired from yesterday, and still excited from yesterday. It's a weird combination. But since I was hungry when Casey went off to work this morning and I didn't go back to sleep, I think it's time to nap soon.

> I don't have nearly as many random thoughts as I'd first thought. That probably can be attributed to the previous random thought.

> I bought the new Dave Matthews, Austin Powers soundtrack and the Corrs live in Dublin CDs yesterday, but I don't know when I'll get around to listening to them, what with my current lust for Springsteen's new album. After sleeping on it, I think it may be my all-time top favorite in my collection. We'll see if that wears off.

I need to find the Best of Dano['s recent stuff].

Previous page: Asbury morning
Next page: The Best of Dano, Vol. 2: June 21, 2001 to July 31, 2002

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?