THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-01-11 - 3:25 p.m.

HiFi

I watched High Fidelity the other day.

OK, it was last year, on the 30th, just before I flew to Phoenix.

But I think that movie is my life in some way. No, not the sex, the relationships, the rain, Chicago, the Rain Man-like knowledge of music, the talking to the camera ... but the love of music, the compilations, the love of a girl, the music as a SOUNDTRACK to life, the Top 5 Whatever lists, wanting to date a musician, a singer. There are parts of me there.

I'm not sure what else to think, about why I feel so strongly, but there's something about that movie.

I was thinking about the movie today because work sucks. It's been sucking for a while. I've started to think more seriously about when to leave, when to polish up and then start sending out my resume.

And, for when that time comes, I present the Top 5 Places to Live if I move away from the Jersey Shore in geographical order, East to West (New York City not included because it's not really moving away):

1. Boston -- it's got all I need: coastline, history, baseball, forests, all within an hour

2. Austin -- one of only a few places I would consider away from an ocean (see below). A fun, small city, with the lure of the open Hill Country and Texas wasteland.

3. Arizona -- Mountains, desert, snow, sun, the Wild West; it's all there, except the ocean.

4. Southern California -- I don't think this one would last too long, but I'd like to try it, just to see how laid back I can get.

5. Seattle -- a good friend lives there, and the view, any view, is breathtaking.

And, since I'm on the subject, I might as well throw in my Top 5 Places I'll Never Live, So Help Me God (in no particular order):

1. Atlanta -- I don't think I could live in any place where my only option for baseball is the Braves. I have visited twice for a total of 63 hours, both times because the Mets were playing, and it was about all I could stand.

2. Florida -- Humidity AND old Northeasterners who drive slow? Please, three months a summer is enough, thank you.

3. Nebraska -- Never been there, and although I do love corn, I don't think I could put up with all those Husker football fans.

4. Columbus, Ohio -- The National Hockey League is the best they could do for a major sports franchise? C'mon. And don't even get me started on Ohio State.

5. The White House -- I have no desire to attempt a run at public office, let alone anything on the national scale. I could see myself working at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, but not living there (all those tourists walking through ...).

Though it wouldn't bother me if the woman I marry manages to win residency.

Previous page: Mini M&Ms
Next page: A rough night at work can lead to drinking

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?