THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, Jun. 25, 2002 - 12:20 p.m.

He returns

I'm back!

Not that I went anywhere. I was just preoccupied with baseball coverage, Casey's move into my apartment, the crappy aspect of my job, limited internet access at my apartment, my stupid car, and not having anything I felt was worth saying. I don't even want to know how long I've been gone. I'm not clicking on my buddy list until I update so that it will say I updated "less than an hour ago" and not "a fortnight ago."

Yes, my participation in Diaryland has waned, drastically, since November. It's mainly because I haven't had my own personal computer on which to surf the internet at home. Lori and I got DSL, but my laptop is too primitive to handle it, so I've been at her mercy. When she gets off her computer (and doesn't take it with her somewhere), I get a few minutes.

But now that Casey's there, and so long as UPS drops off the Verizon MAC software, we'll have her computer to use as well, and I can hopefully get back to whatever it was I started this diary for.

Oh yeah, for random lists of thoughts:

� I would've made this the last item, in order to give the title of this entry a double meaning, but since the last item works well in its place, I'll place this one here. Only days after I speculated whether or not Bruce Springsteen would perform on the Today show sometime this summer (with a new album coming out on July 30 and all), it turns out he will. Only not in New York, but Asbury Park. Still, I should make an effort to be there.

� I was just reading about the new stars on the Walk of Fame for next year, and I'm happy to see Drew Carey is getting one. So is the Osmond family, and with my attention divided between the computer and a 1993 SNL rerun on Comedy Central, I read "the Osmond family" as "the Osbourne family" and was about to write a tirade against Ozzy and klan getting a star after 13 episodes. But I caught my misinterpretation and went back and reread it and felt better about the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce.

� My half.com watchlist just had the entire Monty Python Flying Circus DVD series (14 discs) for $85, but I clicked on it too late and it was already sold. Next time I see it for $105 or less, I'm on it. As it is, I can get it for around $110, and I'll go for that when Casey and I get back from the Midwest.

� They just had one of my favorite "Deep Thoughts" on SNL! "If you ever drop your keys into a river of molten lava, let them go, because, man, they're gone." It's the Jeff Goldblum/Aerosmith episode from just after "Jurassic Park" came out. I went back and forth over "Goldblum" or "Goldbloom" and neither looked right, so I went with "Goldbloom" until Casey told me it was wrong, and I came back and changed it.

� I'm going to create a survey once I come up with some good ideas.

� In some ways, I'm sorry to admit that I'm interested in American Idol. I really just like Simon tearing all the horrible singers apart. It's even better when the crappy people get all pissed off and sassy to the cameras. And they're probably considered really dorky by the majority of viewers, but I like the two host guys. I'd like that job. I could probably get it without any previous on-camera experience. All I'd need is a free hip wardrobe and an intentionally mussy haircut, both of which I imagine Fox provided. I have the wit and interviewing ability, I know that.

� I'm going to take the Dalton Trumbo/Jon Favreau route to writing a movie. Trumbo wrote Roman Holiday in a short time because he was blacklisted during McCarthy's Communist witchhunt and was going to prison for a year. He wanted to sell a screenplay to have some money so his family would be secure while he was incarcerated. The screenplay sold under Ian McLellan Hunter's name (a friend of Trumbo's and screenwriter himself who offered to front the project, then gave the money to Trumbo) for $50,000. Trumbo received his posthumous Oscar for it in 1993. Favreau wrote Swingers in a week and a half. He also said Rudy was his favorite movie to work on and he would go to the set even on days he wasn't involved in the shooting. He said so in an interview in Jane I read before we threw them out at Casey's old apartment on Sunday.

Anyway, I'm going to come up with a good movie idea, write a screenplay in a few weeks, sell it, and, at the least, be able to quit the paper by the end of the summer.

Then I'll figure out what to do with my life.

Previous page: On Baseball
Next page: And she tore at his boxers, ripping them clear from his body, exposing his firm...

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?