THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, June 03, 2003 - 11:53 a.m.

Gut check

I must say, I've got it pretty good.

When I can fall into an irrational depression because I accidentally bulldoze a great house in The Sims, I'd say I don't have too much to worry about at the moment. It's particularly insignificant when it's one of the original houses that came with the game, and after a little internet searching, some dead ends and frustrations, then a realization, I get the house back and move my Sim in.

I'm not a seemingly well-kept man in relatively clean clothes with a backpack asking people waiting for the bus in Port Authority if they'd be so kind as to dig up $4.50 among them because, according to him, he was quoted one price on the phone and now they're charging him another to get from New York to Philadelphia. I'm not standing there at Gate 200, my voice clearly shaking, reduced to begging.

Nor am I a 27-year-old wife and new aunt in San Antonio with a dashing husband working long hours in his residency who comes home to a miscarriage, 10 weeks into what was expected to be their first child. It happens in 40 percent of pregnancies, apparently. It happened to my cousin's wife, it happened to my aunt � not related to the aforementioned cousin � at least once, maybe twice, but I wasn't yet 9 when her first daughter was born, so my memory is cloudy. As for my cousin, we're going to his house for dinner tonight and to see his 8-month-old son. My aunt is preparing for her older daughter's high school graduation this week and, come September, an empty house for the first time in 18 years when one child starts college and the other leaves for her junior year of high school in Ecuador.

At times it's tough to remember that things happen for a reason. But I guess we have to tell ourselves it's all part of life, a check on ourselves to perhaps reconsider our priorities, to return a phone call or an e-mail, to remember to put an old adage to use and count our blessings or stop and smell the roses.

Sometimes you just have to slog through the sewer to get to the rose garden, I suppose.

Previous page: Summer viewing and reading
Next page: New friends?

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?