THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-08-20 - 5:10 p.m.

Guns-N-Hoses

I need to write something other than a story about the BlueClaws losing. After six straight games � all of them so strikingly similar � I am finding it more and more difficult to put a fresh spin on it. For today, I incorporated Groundhog Day into my lede. I'm in a slump myself.

But I arrived at the ballpark today to see that there was no batting practice and instead the Lakewood police and fire departments are playing a softball game on the field. It's called "Guns-N-Hoses." Police/fire humor.

So I guess I'll see if this will help me be creative. Too bad I haven't been following it that closely...

LAKEWOOD, N.J. � On a hot, humid afternoon under the sun at GPU Energy Park, the Hoses had no chance to stop the Guns.

The Dover Township Police Department � the Guns � topped the Fire Deparment � the Hoses � 9-0 in an exhibition softball game yesterday before the BlueClaws faced the Macon Braves. The Guns shot out of the gate early, dousing the Hoses five times in the first inning and putting the game away.

The Hoses' first baseman, a guy so big it looked like he had a keg � or two � strapped to his waist (you know, for convenience), took a step to his left and watched as the ball rolled by not two feet away. And the Earth moved.

�������

Yeah, so see � in a slump. But I'm talking with people up here, so that's distracting me a bit as we talk about Rachel Griffiths' hotness and Ken the Italian who will be playing Buster, the BlueClaws' mascot tonight.

Sign today in a convenience store: "If we are what we eat, then I'm fast, cheap and easy."

And Sly and the Family Stone sing "Hot Fun In The Summertime." It's always good to have a morning radio host of a local oldies station as the PA announcer when you need to ask who sings a certain song.

Three days till Chicago!

Previous page: The joy of Skeletor�
Next page: Einstein on the beach

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?