THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-06-05 - 1:18 a.m.

Kick save and a beauty

This is entry No. 240
To go until the Dano 250th Entry Celebration: 9

So it has come down to this: My schedule at the end of this week is in the hands of a bunch of Canadians and Eastern Europeans missing several teeth gliding around on a rink playing a winter sport in June. That is, if the Devils wrap up the Stanley Cup in Game 6 on Thursday, I am off Saturday and can attend my sister's graduation party in its entirety and spend the night drinking with my friends. If the series goes to Game 7 on Saturday, I have to be at work by 8 p.m. and will have to hope for a nice, tight, three-period game (no overtime) in order to make it out to a bar by midnight for a few nightcaps before closing.

But other than that, life is good. I mean, the Devils are up 3-2, so that's good in itself, and the fact that a second consecutive Stanley Cup may be three days away is wonderful. The fact that a win also gets me Saturday off is icing on the cake � with a victory. With a loss, it's just insult to injury, kind of like that bug that smacks on your windshield right in your line of sight and when you go to wash it off, it smears in a perfect arc to the left.

The homestand is over, no baseball games for me to cover for a week, and a day off tomorrow, both much-needed breaks. It was a good homestand, though. I covered seven of the eight games, missing Friday night's which turned out to be one inning before getting suspended until Saturday because of the rain. Tomorrow I just plan to sleep in and maybe clean the car or something. My trunk, for one thing, is filled with crap I should throw out.

I should say, too, that my good day began last night with an overdue and needed phone call to a good friend. It was just nice to hear a familiar, kind voice again.


On to the agenda of the week. My call for dates (previous entry) to accompany me to the Dano 250th Entry Celebration has garnered a few worthy responses. Molly began with The List Method and has parlayed that into The Constant Pandering Method. Hacamole has gone the route of The Old Friend Spouting Inside Jokes and definitely brought a smile. Wyndchild has gone the way of presidential candidates who get their asses kicked in the New Hampshire primiaries and drop out the next morning � the Lamar Alexander Strategy. She's conceded (no, not conceited) and thrown her support behind Molly. Though personally, I don't think Wyndchild gave herself enough of a chance. She may get herself back into this one, should she choose to. And Ellie Mae began with The List Method and took it a step further, adding her motives. Very interesting ...

But no word yet on who might be in the lead ... though there may be competition from a certain studio anchor and football reporter for CBS Sports named Bonnie.

In related news, Julie Bowen ("Ed") and Tim Robbins have signed on as presenters, and Garth Brooks will be among the performers. Stay tuned for more developments as they occur!


And I thank the Lord for the people I have found
I thank the Lord for the people I have found

Elton John, "Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters"

Previous page: Celebration preparation
Next page: Screen tests

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?