THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, Feb. 13, 2003 - 3:01 p.m.

Fox lie to us? NO!

I find it pretty damn funny that people were pissed off at Fox for the Joe Millionaire cliffhanger on Monday. Granted, I was thrown by it, but I SO predicted it. First of all, we in the media were given synopses of upcoming shows a few weeks ago and the one for Joe described the two-hour series finale on Feb. 24 as the one where the woman he chooses would be revealed. When Fox started running promos hinting that the decision would be made this past Monday, it confused a lot of people. I figured that Fox just wanted to get more out of the ratings hit so instead of pitching it as a recap show (which it was) to viewers, they'd be a little more vague.

"Fox has lied to us, and I feel that they should be punished for that," one viewer wrote on one of the message boards on the Fox website. " Bad move, guys. It will be a while before I put my trust back into Fox."

HA! You had trust in Fox? Give me a break! This is the network that brought you Who Wants To Marry A Millionaire? and frequently runs variations on the theme "TV's Most [fill in scandalous adjective] Outtakes/Videos/Police Chases." This is the network that teases the local 10 o'clock news nightly with phrases like, "What they're not telling you..." and "We found out the truth ..." just to get you to watch. When you do tune in, you find that what they weren't telling us was that something that's advertised as costing $99.99 will in fact be closer to $105, once you figure in the tax.

I've never thought much of Fox when it comes to things like "news" and "the truth," so I guess I find it surprising that others would. I mean, this is the network that can't just broadcast baseball or football games; it needs "Virtual Manager" in-game internet polls and over-the-top NFL pregame and halftime shows, not to mention computerized robots destroying one another and futuristic "machines" providing instant replay. Fox is and always will be sensational, and I mean that in the derogatory way people use when referring to the media.

So Survivor: The Amazon premieres tonight. Casey and I watched the first hour two nights ago but that was it. When we put the preview tape in, it began with a disclaimer (not unlike the FBI warnings on movies) and then explained that because of "confidentiality agreements," the preview would not reveal the end of the show, that the tape would end just before the conclusion of the immunity challenge. We were disappointed, but it was a nice preview nonetheless. (Don't worry, I won't give away any specifics.)

I will say that some of my predictions seem accurate, and the men vs. women tribal setup brings about the predicted comments from both sexes. I hope that the guys thought they were being honest and funny with some of the things they said, because watching them on TV they look like eight chauvinist bastards ready to club a woman over the head and drag her back to the cave.

I'm going to get myself back to work now, since I do have a fair amount of stuff to do. But I am left with this dilemma: After tomorrow, I will not update for nine or 10 days, since Casey and I will be off to Florida. So what to do? I want to keep you all happy, keep you reading. While I don't consider myself a stats whore, everyone wants a little attention and recognition, and I do have this streak of double-digit hits going since like early December (it goes back further than my stats page does). I'll have to come up with something...

Previous page: The 49ers and Me: A History of My Allegiance
Next page: A brown shirt and blue jeans

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?