THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2003 - 5:48 p.m.

Things floating around my brain

Kind of got a headache now. Was it the popcorn?

Nah.

* * *

After nearly two weeks now without really updating (I guess I did Monday with that first entry back), I'm anxious to get back into it.

I have a few small things to say, nothing too extensive. Or deep.

My most amusing Googles of the past 24 hours have included "how can one talk mushy," "Jennifer Aniston's toes" and "Oregon laws on slow moving vehicles." I don't know how I can help people talk mushy.

* * *

About the whole "please read my diary while I'm away" plea I made: I'd like to thank Lauren. I bet she's a big part of it. I shoulda encouraged you to sign my guestbook too, so I'd know whom I should thank personally. But that might've piled on more post-vacation catch-up reading. "Heinz ketchup? Or Hunt's CATsup?" asked Homer Simpson.

* * *

Speaking of reading, I've finally caught up on reading all the diaries I'd missed while I was away. At least for the most part. There were a few I just kind of scanned.

I'm working on the magazines now. I've got Baseball America and USA Today's Sports Weekly left, having gone through the two Sports Illustrateds. There's still the Swimsuit Issue, though. Lots of good articles in that one.

Speaking of the SI SI is this. Read it, and laugh.

* * *

While over at Page 2 on ESPN.com, I also discovered a great Grammy review. Know what I hate about the Grammys though? How in certain places you'll see them spelled "Grammy's." That irk's me. Like "Emmy's." New York's CBS affiliate even spelled it "Grammy's" in the graphic during the post-show news coverage. ARGH! Misplaced possessives are one of my biggest grammatical peeves. Just like drivers who blatantly go into a right/left-turn-only lane and then go straight just so they can move ahead of the six cars already in the straight lane. (Not a grammatical peeve, but a road peeve.) Half the time they don't even use blinkers or feign having accidentally gone into the wrong lane. I can't wait for the day I see someone do it and then get pulled over. I'm amazed it hasn't happened yet. Seriously, in some cases violations like that are worse than speeding.

* * *

One time in Austin after getting very drunk with Brad and me, Heather asked us as we were all drunkenly brushing our teeth before bed if we wanted birth control pills. Just to be safe. For the sex we've never had together.

* * *

Has anyone ever played Snood? I'm currently in the midst of an addiction. I've never won more than one round during a game. It's tough. It's a pretty simple concept, like a reverse Tetris crossed with Space Invaders. I think. My eyes water heavily after marathon sessions, though.

Apparently it was a big hit among the SNL cast a few years back, when Will Ferrell was there, to the point that they wrote the makers of the game to curse them for making such a fun and addicting game.

* * *

I could've theoretically left work 75 minutes ago, but when I went over to Dylan, the chief of my department, he said, "Why don't you follow up on this page when it comes out?" and I was like, "It better not keep me here until 8." He said, "Why? That's your job." I forgot to mention that, No, technically my job is to be the utility player of the office, but I'm a researcher getting paid like a utility player, and I'll start considering it part of my job when I get paid like I should. But that's not happening for a while, apparently, because although we can pay more than the cost of my car for exclusive photos of the Pitts, we can't pay our employees what they're worth.

But the page he wants me to follow up with is moments from my hands, which is good. Casey says there's pie at home.

Previous page: Florida Today: 2/22/03
Next page: A sad day in the neighborhood

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?