THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Jan. 21, 2005 - 5:21 p.m.

I can't skip the cartoons, though

I've found I get through The New Yorker a lot faster each week if I skip all the articles about Bush and Iraq, as well as any fiction pieces that are overly depressing or involve cancer. I've read the last three issues in about an hour, combined.

I made one exception with this piece on Social Security.

The same applies to my daily e-mail of headlines from The New York Times � it's a lot faster when I don't read everything about Bush, Congress, Republicans or Iraq. I bet I'll be less stressed out. I might even keep some of my hair.

However, this weekend I will make the journey into the seat of our government. We're leaving tonight to beat the snow, and to be able to sleep in tomorrow. Casey's going to spend most of her time with a pal from Chicago while I'll be with a college friend with the purpose of the trip at noon on Sunday: Notre Dame vs. Georgetown. Immediately after the game is over, Casey and I will be on the road back to New Jersey, hoping to make it home in time to watch the bulk of the Steelers-Patriots game.

Two weekends, two different cities. A potential eight-to-10 inches of snow in the northeast tomorrow will make for a marked contrast to last weekend's 70-degree temperatures in Scottsdale. I'll tell more about that trip after we're back from D.C.

Previous page: I don't think he's coming
Next page: This has to be Homer Simpson...

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?