THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, Aug. 12, 2002 - 9:39 a.m.

Estoy lunes

Good morning. It is 77 degrees in New York City going up to 91, and here are last night's dreams...

Random dream of all dreams, I'm back in my high school Spanish class with Senora Dacey. Megan, who sat in front of me back then, is sitting in front of me. It's an exam day, and we have four or five manilla folders in front of us which contain our notes and the exams. We have a few minutes at the beginning of class to go through our notes before starting the test. As she always did, 80-year-old (it seemed, but sharp as anyone) Senora Dacey stands at the front of the room, scanning the students, a half-scowl, half-sly grin on her face. Always a weird lady. Then, suddenly, she leaves the room and I, for no discernable reason, take that as a cue to follow. So does another girl in the class, who at first I think is my sister, and later I think is Casey. Outside it is dark, and Senora walks to her car, starts it up, and moves it to another section of the parking lot to avoid getting a ticket. When I realize this is the reason she left, I start walking to my car as if to retrieve something. As I'm walking back in, Jess/Casey and Senora are waiting for me at the stairs that lead back down from the parking lot into the building. Senora has a grin on her face that shows she thinks I'm nuts, and in an attempt to explain my absentmindedness, I try to say, "It's Monday," but instead I say, "Estoy lunes," meaning "I am Monday." I only realize the translation when I wake up. In the dream, I feel relieved that I managed to fake enough Spanish to get by, since it has been eight years since I took a class. Back in the classroom, everyone looks up with confused expressions when we enter and we start the test.

In actual local events last night, I managed to get all the way back to Edgewater at 1 a.m. in my dad's car before realizing that not only did I leave my car in Little Silver so he could take it to Vinny's to have him look at my steering, but I left my apartment keys with my car keys. All this after taking my spare set of car keys with me for the sole purpose of leaving them with Dad in the event I left my car for him to take to Vinny's. So I had to call Casey and wake her up to open the door and then, when I finally fall into bed, I realize in my self-loathing upon realizing I'd forgotten my keys, I neglected to lock Dad's car. So I got up out of bed, dressed again, and walked across the street to take care of that. And so Casey left today, leaving her keys behind so I can lock up when I leave this afternoon, and then I have to drop them off at her office so she can get in tonight, but it's only 15 minutes out of my way, so it's not so bad.

I'm just dumb, that's all.

So I have become addicted to iWon games and play them during every free moment at work. Last night I set personal high scores on Collapse and TextTwist. In the latter, you've got six letters scrambled up and a certain amount of time to make as many 3-to-6-letter words as possible. You must get at least one of the possible six-letter words (sometimes there's only one) in order to move on to the next round. Some letter combinations have maybe 15 words; others have 40. Twice I got all but two words and once I got the six-letter word right off the bat.

The problem is, I go through withdrawl when I'm here at home, because something's messed up with the Java on Casey's computer and I can't get the games to load. NOOOOOOOOOO!!

I can already see it's hazy out and going to be an uncomfortably hot and humid day.

Previous page: My new superficial TV crush is Kelly
Next page: Turning an IM convo with Heather into an entry

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?