THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, Mar. 28, 2005 - 2:42 p.m.

I'm going to have to make up for this one

Yesterday was the least Easterly of Easters I've ever had. I didn't do any of the giving-up-stuff for Lent this year. Usually I attempt to stop biting my fingernails (never works) and refuse to set foot in any fast-food restaurants (or the drive-thrus), but I did neither this year. The fingernails are as stubby as usual, but I've cut back on the fast-fooding in general, so I wouldn't have accomplished much had I avoided the two trips I made in the past 40 days. And both, I believe, were brought on by a disappointing dinner order at work that left me starving at 7:30 on a Monday night.

Then yesterday, Casey and I drive down to my parents' and get baskets that my sister and I still had to search for in the house. My father hid them in the dining room, under things, and we probably hurt his feelings a little with our whining and complaining, but we're in our mid- and late-20s and there's no need to hide the baskets under maps in a bucket. We still let them put our loot in baskets, that should be enough. I wonder, too, if mom's really disappointed in my lack of church going. The only time I go on Sundays nowadays is per her request for Mother's Day or Easter. Just not this year. I'm not giving up on God or anything, but I just don't feel the need to personally visit a church every week. But I suspect she knows it's just not my thing. I've been complaining for decades now, and I still consider the best part of my confirmation classes to be the teacher whose idea of class was to spend five minutes talking about a Bible story, then 20 minutes walking a few blocks into town to the bakery where he got himself a cup of coffee and the three or four of us in the class bought donuts.

Last week, the speculation about the Pope's health amped up a bit, with some rumors going so far as to say he was dead, but the Vatican didn't want to make that announcement before Easter. So I anticipated a Weekend At Bernie's-type ruse wherein the Pope stands on his balcony in a baseball cap and sunglasses, his handlers standing closer than usual and his arms waving akwardly. Sick thoughts, I know, but I chuckled nonetheless. I mean, I knew he wasn't dead, so that had to make it better, right?

Previous page: Stagnation, that's what I feel
Next page: Gripes per gallon

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?