THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, Dec. 5, 2002 - 4:56 p.m.

Dragging through the snow

Oh my god today is DRAGGING.

I looked outside when Casey got up and saw the first few snowflakes falling on the cold � but clear � ground.

Forty-five minutes later, Casey commented on how hard it was snowing. Our street was already covered, and it hasn't let up yet. So many of the workers in our company have already gone home, some of them doing so by whining about how far they have to go when there are others who live farther away. And I hate them, the ones who left.

Because of the weather, it's going to take half an hour or 40 minutes to get home no matter when I leave. I have no problem with driving in this weather, but it's the other people I don't trust. Because they're idiots. You see it every time there's a storm: The Weather Channel will show footage of cars skidding and sliding on icy and snowy roads. Usually, these are in places like Georgia and Texas, where they're not used to snow. But we'll see our share in New Jersey (because of the New Yorkers) and elsewhere in the northeast.

And there are idiots down south, too. Like the boneheads in North Carolina who called 911 because their cable was out. Seriously, people, find something else to do if you can't watch the Trailer Park Channel.

But work has dragged. I forgot lunch and have little money, so I had to improvise. The stories I was responsible for today have been moved to tomorrow for closing, when all three of my current stories are closing, so I essentially have no responsibilities here the rest of the day. The highlight of the day came when the new issue was delivered, and I've already flipped through it cover-to-cover. On top of it all, our internet has gone down twice today, the first time for more than half an hour. But we did find that our computers have a game called Otto Matic wherein you control a robot who has to save a bunch of country bumpkins from being abducted by aliens, who are then sent back to Earth to attack you.

That's been my day. Along with importing music to iTunes and burning a couple of CDs.

I wish we still had real snow days. I would love one.

But this is OK.

Previous page: Tuning into the holiday spirit
Next page: Mr. Popular

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?