THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Mar. 01, 2002 - 9:41 p.m.

That feeling of forgetting something

Really can't say that I have anything to report. I left my apartment seemingly in a rush this afternoon. I stayed up as late as I could last night, watching Ed with a lovely guest appearance by Kelly Ripa, and the first 20 minutes of Survivor, where for some reason the two Boston guys already annoyed me. But Peter got the boot already, so that takes care of one of them. Sean amuses me, too, and both Sara (who has had more comments made about her body in one show than any other previous contestant in an entire series) and Gina look like they'll be right up there with Jerri from the Australian one on the annoyance meter. But sleepiness overtook me, so I finished the show this morning. Then I had to watch The West Wing and Thursday night TV, which I cut down to Friends, Will and Grace and ER.

But the minute that ended, I had to be out the door. I looked around four times, feeling like I'd forgotten something. I had my raincoat, since the weather for New Orleans calls for precip. I had my work bag and my carry-on, complete with camera, hygiene essentials and Casey's birthday present and oh-so-appropriate card purchased two months ago. I had the bills for the mail in my hand. I set both VCRs for all shows through Tuesday night, including getting Six Feet Under in its Tuesday-night rerun (but forgetting about The Real World). And I lugged my laundry bag with me, since I'll likely leave from Casey's Tuesday morning and come to Little Silver before work so I can do laundry and catch up on job hunting.

But I felt like I was missing something, which probably stems from my packing my clothes and leaving them at Casey's on Wednesday so she could put my stuff in the big suitcase with hers, thereby cutting down on our checking-in process. We hope. I guess that was it.

So just two hours until deadline, at which point I'll hope to bolt out of here and up to Jersey City. We'll have to leave at 5 a.m. to get to the airport 90 minutes before our 7 a.m. departure, so it'll be a little more than three hours' sleep for me. And I'll need some because tomorrow's a full fun day, none of this arrive and relax crap that you sometimes do on vacations when you've got time to kill. With just three days there, we don't. But it'll be OK.

I should be more excited, though. I don't know why I'm not. I suppose that will all change, and soon.

Previous page: Caught in the TV spiral
Next page: NOLA: On the way to the Crescent City

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?