THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-07-12 - 1:03 a.m.

Daydream believer

There is absolutely no reason why "Coconut Telegraph" by Jimmy Buffett should be in my head. But it is, and has been for about a day now.

There is a reason "Daydream Believer" should be in my head, and that is as well, knocking "Coconut Telegraph" down a notch to No. 2 tonight on the WDAC early morning top five.

So I watched a baseball game tonight with Davy Jones of the Monkees.

OK, I didn't really watch it with him, but as I sat in the press box in front of an open window, Davy sat outside on the deck, an arm's length from my spot inside. Davey was there because the Monkees are playing in New Jersey tomorrow and he knows a local morning show DJ, who also happens to be the public address announcer at the ballpark. So he had Davy come down to throw out the first pitch and take in the game.

After throwing a strike, Davy went back upstairs where his daughter/publicist Jessica was with half a dozen other guys, whom I later found out were members of his road crew. Most of them were British, but there was a Yank or two among them. At one point, one of the Yanks turned toward Jessica Jones and asked, "Do they have anything like this over in England?" and Davy cut in to reply, "Yeah, knitting." I'm not sure what he meant by that, but it was funny. After the first hit of the game, the runner rounded first and then went back to the base as the centerfielder threw the ball in. One of them turned to Davy and asked, "They can go back to the base? I didn't realize that." Davy, it seemed, knows a bit about baseball.

But through the entire night, what came to my mind the most, what I could not seem to shake more than any other image, more than any Monkees song or "Coconut Telegraph," was the episode of The Brady Bunch where Marsha meets Davy Jones.

The group sat out on the deck of the press box drinking Corona and Sam Adams and enjoying the ballgame. When we came back up from the first-pitch ceremonies on the field, the guys were all sitting on the deck, crouched against the press box, sitting on the cement. Davy went out there and I asked him through the window if he wanted a chair. "No, thanks," he said. "I'll just sit down here with the peasants." Or something like that. Without realizing it or really meaning to do it, my response of "All right," came out in a slight hint of a British accent, mainly on the "right." But luckily it was just one word, said somewhat quietly, and he didn't notice.

Davy signed several autographs from kids in the luxury suite adjacent to the press box, as well as a few people who came through what is supposed to be a working press area. Most of the time it's just me, but tonight it was a circus.

HA! Davy Jones at a minor league ballgame in New Jersey. I felt the need to call my mom and tell her. They actually played the Monkees theme as he walked to the mound for the first pitch. When he walked back to the dugout, after he'd been announced and all and everyone knew he was there, all the middle-aged women in the stands stood up waving and yelling, "Davy! Oh Davy!" He waved back and smiled for all the pictures. Later, they played "Pleasant Valley Sunday" during the pitcher's first warmups, and on towards the sixth inning they played "Daydream Believer." By then, the crowd had noticed where Davy was sitting (I think the PA guy gave Davy another shout out), and as the song played, people in the stands clapped along and turned around to look up at him, as if expecting Davey to get up and lip sync to his own song from the press box balcony. Davy saw what was going on and half turned back towards us inside and said, "Everybody!"

Then about the sixth inning, the Brits left, but not before I got his daughter's/publicist's e-mail address. She's cute, too, with that British accent, love.

Previous page: Say goodbye, #41
Next page: Feeling good everyday

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?