THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, Oct. 02, 2002 - 1:58 p.m.

The blahs

Today's a blah day, and it has nothing to do with the weather, which is sunny and in the mid-80s for whatever freaky reason.

Most of my funk is simply carryover from yesterday -- I was given a story about Celine Dion to fact-check, and man, I hate the woman. I know "hate" is a strong term, and I don't mean any physical harm to her or anything seriously stalkerish like that. I just wish she'd stop making songs. I've done my best to isolate myself from them, and then I come to work at an entertainment magazine. Oh well.

Last night I could not keep my eyes open and, as Homer says in the "Dancing Homer" episode: "Marge and I would talk about it for years: For the first time in our marriage, she fell asleep before I did." I conked out while Casey watched The Hideously Unreal World. I'm sorry I'm such a boob about it, but I think with each season it gets more outrageous. I mean, seriously -- Las Vegas? Where they are given jobs as party hosts? There's no way they'd qualify if not for MTV's backing. It's a mystery that some of those people even graduated from college. (And, on a completely unrelated note, why is it that I type so fast that every time I type "about it," which I seem to do often enough, I always hit the space bar too fast so that it first comes out "abou tit"?)

When I awoke at the end of "Real" World and Casey asked if I wanted to get under the covers, I balked because I didn't want to go to sleep at 10:30, afraid that I'd wake up too early. Which, of course, I did. Around 5:15, there I was, unable to get comfortable again and feeling like, if I wanted to, I could've risen for the day. But I persevered, rotating from my back to my side to my stomach to my other side and perhaps back to my back again before falling asleep (and having weird dreams, one of which included my parents and me trying to get to a Notre Dame gamewatch -- for a game against Stanford, this week's opponent -- and getting lost and not arriving until the second half). Part of my restlessness came from my inability to lie comfortably, what with my sore neck (yep, still sore, though to a lesser degree today). Had I not felt when I first felt the pain (see yesterday), I'd think it was stress: Stress over switching apartments, stress over finding movers, stress over my bank account. But I know my finances are fine, it's just that I haven't received a paycheck since Sept. 13, and the one I'll get on Friday will only be for seven days of work. That, and having to pay a security deposit on a new apartment before receiving the one from the current one, all with Christmas coming up, just makes me a little skittish. But now that I think about it (THERE! I DID IT AGAIN -- "abou tit" -- but fixed it), I felt the same last year, and back then I didn't have the luxury of a return check in the future.

Anyway, I feel somewhat lousy, and I'm afraid that I'm taking it out, just a little, on Casey, though certainly not consciously. If that stupid "SERVICE ENGINE SOON" light would go out on my car, I'd feel better. It's likely that it was because the gas cap was replaced wrong when I got gas on Sept. 22 (because that's when the light came on), but I fixed it that night, and it still hasn't gone off yet. The other time it happened, it did take a little more than a week, but I'm worried because I'm driving to Boston this weekend, and I don't need car trouble somewhere in Connecticut. Also, while adding oil yesterday morning, I discovered a little tube that wasn't connected at one end to whatever part of the engine it was supposed to be attached to, and I wonder if that was the problem; in which case, it will probably be several more days before the light goes out.

One more month ... one month from today ... that's what I have to look toward, that's when so much of this will be in the past because we'll be in our new place, unpacking.

Now I need to go organize copies of the National Enquirer.

Previous page: Pain in the neck
Next page: Drinking again

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?