THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, Oct. 15, 2001 - 9:57 p.m.

Anthrax in America

OK ...

So I got to work this afternoon for a meeting and saw three police cars out in front of the building. None of them had their lights on, so it wasn't any kind of urgent emergency call.

I walked in the employee entrance as usual and saw nothing out of the ordinary. There were two security guards at the front desk, which isn't that unusual since 4:30 is around the time they change over, so one might come in a little early or something.

I walked upstairs and went to the meeting.

And while perusing the wire stories during my shift tonight -- since there's now a lull in activity, what with much of my early responsibilities taken care of and the rest contingent upon the completion of the Rangers hockey game, the Redskins-Cowboys Monday Night Football game, and the Athletics-Stupidheads baseball game -- in my wanderings, I read some random stories (see last entry) and read the latest on various national news items. So as I was reading about anthrax at ABC, I wondered -- aloud, really, not for any reason -- what we'd do if we had anthrax here and had to evacuate the newsroom.

"We don't, the tests came back negative," someone said.

"What?" I asked.

"There was an unidentified package before, the cops came to take it away," he said.

Oh. Thanks for telling us! I'm not that worried -- I refuse to live in fear; sure, I'm living more cautiously now, but I refuse to go about life in a paranoid state -- but you'd think our esteemed editors would take the effort to alert us, what with all the messages they send out about other things via our computer messaging system.

(Yawn) I'm tired. I've even gotten bored with this entry. I wish I didn't have to be here. I just want to rest and sleep.

Previous page: Bethlehem Steel
Next page: Fuck the Yankees

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?