THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, June 16, 2005 - 5:31 p.m.

The 101 update and an addendum

I haven't been publicizing my progress on my 101 in 1001, though I have updated the list as I've accomplished things. (Yet, at 8 in 218, I'm not quite that far along.) Others have documented many of their individual accomplishments, but I've been lazy. And some of them haven't warranted explanation. I mean, who really cares if I've read the fourth book on my way to 33? (And boy, am I behind on that one.)

So while I still have 93 in 783 to go -- I'll definitely have it under 90 by the end of the year, but I hope it's better than that -- it occurred to me that there are some things I want to accomplish this summer that weren't on the list. I omitted them from that exercise because I hadn't thought of them yet, or they're all travel-related or outdoor/summer activities, and I already had plenty of those.

Here we go, in no particular order, to be accomplished before all the leaves have fallen from the trees. For that purpose, I pick Sunday, October 30 of this year. I guess that makes it a 5 in 137 for '05.

� Get on Route 46 where it starts (ends?) at the George Washington Bridge and take it west through New Jersey to the Delaware River. I've heard that it's beautiful and scenic once you get out past the cities and suburbs, so it'll be a great summer day trip.

� Climb the just-reopened tower at High Point State Park. I think this will be an autumn activity, for the changing leaves and the clear air that should provide far-reaching views.

� Take a long weekend trip to Maine. Early Friday morning to Sunday afternoon should be enough of an appearance in the state to hold me over this year.

� Visit Yankee Stadium's Monument Park and photograph the old ballpark. I feel the need to have my own preserved memories of the historic arena, much as I did with Tiger Stadium, before it's replaced.

� Walk across the George Washington Bridge. Every time I drive by it on my way to work, I notice walkers or cyclists coming off the walkway. I think it'd be a great way to see up close a span I've been crossing on occassion for 20 years.

Previous page: A visit to another galaxy
Next page: Status symbol

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?