THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

1998-08-18 - 14:21:47

Maine

American Road Trip: Maine

Whooo -- chhhhh -- sssssss...

A real low sound made by the wind out here. Quiet Maine woods -- almost like thos Thoreau wrote about -- but not quite. Today the wind blows so hard it knocks pine needles and leaves onto me and the ground, adding to the soft natural carpet beneath me. This forest is familiar to me -- I've been coming up here almost yearly for as long as I can remember. I can find solitude out here -- the quiet peacefulness of the wind in the trees and, further down, of the meandering river.

Occasionally, the drone of a plane propeller or a car on the road remind me I'm not that far in the wilderness. But I'm in a secluded enough spot that the only person I'd see out here would be one I bring with me.

The cloud-screened sun of late August afternoon filters through to the floor of these Maine woods - illuminating leaves here, a branch there, casting shadows everywhere else. I test my accuracy -- and chance -- by throwing a rock to see how far it will cary before hitting a tree. The first makes it 40 feet or so but the next finds the soft forest floor further down the hill. I sit here a while longer before seeking out that river (by a self-made route through the underbrush), awaiting silence, the stillness of human movement, awaiting only the noise and commotion of the forest as it goes about its daily routine.

After reading through the notebook I've brought with me, recounting some of my travels for the year, I look up at the forest again, having forgotten where I was, and my eyes readjust -- and it all looks new again. I stand and walk toward the riverbank.

The river winds, the river bends and here -- yes -- silence! Birds, sure, wind, naturally -- but all else is silence.

Previous page: Springwater, N.Y.
Next page: The End

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?