THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

1998-07-31 - 12:06:00

Kansas

American Road Trip: Kansas

FRIDAY, JULY 31, OVERLAND PARK, KAN. � Denver daybreak was cool � in the 50s and wet with dew � and I was up and on the road by 8:30, which is 9:30 Central time. I listened to Denver morning radio until it was out of range as I hurtled down from the city�s mile-high perch. Colorado opens up here and continues on into Kansas. It was a gray, overcast and cool day � good for driving. Kansas turned out to be a lot more hilly than I thought � quite layered with rolling peaks not unlike southern/mid-Indiana � but not near Pennsylvania. I was expecting nothing but flat wheat fields into Topeka. The most amazing thing was a large stretch of field covered with sunflowers � an acceptable replacement for the Kansas scenery I�d wanted. Kansas rolled on and I tried Greg from Salina � no answer. In Topeka, I made one slight wrong turn � actually exited I-70 at the wrong place, onto US 75 and then 24, where I called Greg again. But following 24, I saw the Kansas scenery the way I wouldn�t have on the interstate (see Steinbeck) and I avoided the Kansas Turnpike tolls. 24 took me to 59 and through Lawrence and past Kansas U. in an area not much unlike South Bend/Mishawaka. Kansas 10 took me into I-435 and Overland Park, where I had to stay at the rather nice Drury Inn because the White Haven was booked. I did get in touch with Joe, though, and will meet up with him in Elizabeth, Illinois, tomorrow.

Sunflowers stretch out
For miles a floral sea �
Or so it seems here

Previous page: Denver
Next page: Field of Dreams, Dyersville, Iowa

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?