THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

1998-04-13 - 20:25:32

Ready to go

As much as I'll miss this place and all those I admire associated with it, I can't wait to hit I-80 for New Jersey in May. I'll be home, relaxing and focusing my efforts on the job hunt.

But before beginning a career, I want to go out On The Road -- me, my Volvo, my camera, a tent (a rucksack too), my notebooks. I want to see the expanses, the wide-open spaces of this great country. I want to cruise the highways, traverse the towns, check out the cities and marvel at the parks and wonders.

I'll stay with friends and releatives where I can, and camp out -- enjoying the air and nature -- where I can't. I want to write, about that trip and some of my other stories, both short and long, develop them and see if there's money, even a living, to be made there for me. I love the storytelling of fiction as well as that of reporting, of chronicling.

Then, maybe by October I'd love to be settled in a new city or town, in a new area, learning a new job and meeting new people. On some nights, I can just go home and write, make up more stories and develop old ones further.

There's so much possibility out there I can't stand to be idle here in Indiana anymore.

Previous page: Dream 3/30/98
Next page: Dream 4/17/98

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?