THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

1998-03-19 - 12:57:06

A bad start to the day

Maybe I should have just stayed in bed today.

Waking up with a bloddy nose isn't a good omen for the day to follow. Then, while waiting for the shaving cream to soothe my face, I read too much of the paper, so that by the time I got out of the shower, it was 10:30 -- I'm at least 15 minutes late, with a little more to do than a usual morning.

In my haste to get ready, eat breakfast and make lunch, I try to do all three at once -- Then, just after putting the apple juice and bagel down on the coffee table, my backpack begins to slip off my shoulder. In the second or two it takes for it to fall, I see the juice in its path, throw my right elbow back to stop the fall of the backpack, but to no avail: It keeps coming, and I know already (as if I saw it coming, ESP-like) that I've a cleanup ahead of me. At nearly the same time the Backpack Pendulum swings down to knock over the juice glass, I react, or predict -- "FUCK! GOD DAMMIT!"

So now I decide -- it's 10:45, and I've got an 11 a.m. class -- that I'm never going to make my first class on time, and I settle in to watch "SportsCenter" -- and then read a little for the class I'm missing, so it's not a total waste. But then, an hour later, on my way to my 12:30 class, I pass the professor from that first class I missed -- "Hi Dan," she says. "Good morning," I reply, with a smile.

And now, sitting -- daydreaming -- in that 12:30 class, I wonder if today's bad luck is the consequence of not forwarding that e-mail last night -- "Jane So-and-so has only six days to live. It is her dying wish that this e-mail will make it around the world and to another dimension before coming back to her before she dies." I stopped sending those freshman year.

Maybe I should start again.

Previous page: Time to go home
Next page: "Speaking of honies"

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?