THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, Oct. 16, 2001 - 11:59 p.m.

A big win for my Bucs

A dynasty came to an end today.

It was just a small thing in the grand scheme of the national sports stage, but it meant enough to me. And the dyanasty isn't completely toppled, but a run of titles has been severed.

Red Bank's (my alma mater) boys cross country team today ended a 19-year stranglehold on the county championship held by Christian Brothers Academy, an all-boys school that (according to local rumor) recruits certain athletes. The CBA boys team hasn't lost a dual cross country meet in decades (it's up to 200 straight or something). They'd won the Monmouth County team title every year since 1981.

But not today. And I take a little credit for that.

The summer before my junior year, I decided I might like to try my hand (well, feet really) at cross country. Not that I felt I needed one, but I wanted to try to earn a varsity letter, and after my sophomore baseball season, I realized it wasn't going to happen on the diamond. I was pretty good at running the mile in gym classes and baseball practices, so I figured with some training, I could tackle 3.1. I started training with the team in August, and enjoyed the camaraderie that came with a small team. In cross country, seven runners contribute to the meet, the top five scoring, and teams are generally pretty small.

At Red Bank, we hadn't had much success with the boys team. In fact, before I joined, I think they'd had trouble getting a large enough turnout. My junior year, we won a few dual meets; senior year, I think we won one or two more. Before that, it had been a while since we were any kind of a threat.

In the past few years, the new coach and some talented runners have boosted the program. The winter and spring track programs -- boys and girls -- have benefitted as well, winning conference, county and state championships indoors and out. But never on the wooded course of Holmdel Park.

And so today, with their top runner finishing third and their top five finishing before CBA's fourth, the Bucs wrestled the county crown away from the dominating parochial power.

And I feel proud to be a Buc.

Previous page: Fuck the Yankees
Next page: It's a Beautiful Morning

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?