THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, Sept. 12, 2001 - 9:03 p.m.

Looking into the void

I live just a few miles from a seaside hill that overlooks Sandy Hook Bay and, in the distance, Staten Island, the Verrazano Bridge, Brooklyn and Manhattan. For years, I've used the scientific process of looking at how clear the World Trade Center towers appear to judge the level of haze and smog in the area.

Just last week, on my birthday, actually, my sister and my friend Mia and I went to the beach at Sandy Hook, driving all the way out to one of the last beaches on the five-mile long peninsula, a wide, isolated stretch of sand with a view of Manhattan and Long Island. It was a particularly clear day, one so clear that not only was the Manhattan skyline sharp and brilliant, but a bridge out near Floyd Bennett Field on Long Island was clearer than I've ever seen it, the control tower at JFK Airport was easily discernable, and looking out across the ocean to the horizon, buildings peaked above the horizon line -- almost as if out of the water -- where I'd never seen them before. The air was so clear that parts of Long Island were visible on the Jersey Shore that had never been seen before, at least not by me.

I walked back to the car to get my camera, wanting to take pictures of the view. I'd taken plenty of New York City photos before, plenty of pictures from Sandy Hook and the Highlands of the skyline -- the World Trade Center, Empire State Building, Coney Island and all. But I felt the need to make the long walk back across the sand to the car to get my camera. I took a few pictures, putting random sunbathers in the foreground, and then packed up my camera to lay in the sand myself.

I pulled out those pictures again yesterday to look at it as it was.

And so far, I haven't been able to bring myself to drive out to look at it as it is now. Something's missing, I know that. I just don't want to see it with my own eyes yet. So far, it's still not real, still hasn't sunk in yet. I don't want it to yet. I'll get up there sometime soon, and I'll stand along the cliff road looking out at the lights and see the black void of lower Manhattan and I'll listen to the quiet of New Jersey and know that the same eerie quiet hovers over New York City and up there it's really weird.

Previous page: New York City
Next page: Kick some ass, McCain!

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?