THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, Nov. 18, 2002 - 6:14 p.m.

A weekend in the rain

What makes this story amazing is not the fact that some guy got 25 years to life for $11 worth of stuff, but that the stuff was a bottle of wine, lip balm and air freshener. How cheap was the wine? My god. If you're going to "forget to pay," as the crook's lawyer contends, at least "forget" to pay for a decent bottle of wine.

HA! Stupid criminals.

So this weekend, Casey and I spent about as much time outdoors and on the road as possible while a nor'easter whipped the Jersey Shore and NYC. Saturday we went down to my parents' for some kitty cuddling, lunch and so I could pack up boxes of photos and a few albums and bring them up to Cliffside. It rained pretty much from the moment we got in the car until sometime during the night last night. We drove an hour to my parents' and then an hour back at night in a steady rain. We went out to lunch with my folks and made some stops on the way back to the house. I packed my photos into plastic crates and loaded them into the car in the rain.

Yesterday, the rain managed to hold off while we waited for the bus into the City, and it wasn't too bad as we made our way to and from my cousin Scott's apartment. We went there to visit Scott, his wife Kat, and their son Alex, now seven weeks old. Alex spent most of the time sleeping, but we did hold him before we left. He's the first baby I've really held ever. I may have had my cousins Kate and Chris in my lap when they were babies, but it wasn't when they were as young as Alex. But I had Alex all to my self in my arms ��and he hated it. It was the only time he cried while we were there. That may have been because he was awake and being passed around from mom to Casey to me. Scott stuck his pacifier in his mouth and that shut him up.

From there, Casey went to get her hair cut and I went to the Back Page to meet Dave and Kerry for lunch. We chowed on wings, potato skins and nachos and drank beers while watching football. Casey came after her haircut. Hours later, Dave, Casey and I made our way back down to the Village via E. 60th and Dylan's Candy Shop (where I bought sour watermelon slices and gummy bears). After non-alcoholic drinks at some airport-lounge themed coffee shop, we walked around the corner to Kenny's Castaways to see Dylan's band, and a few others. The chick playing acoustic guitar when we got there (with a bassist and bongo drummer for acompaniment) sounded a lot like Dar Williams, and I liked her. The guy who followed � also on acoustic guitar, with Dylan on drums and a bassist � was OK. Dylan's band rocked, with electric guitar, bass, a vocalist, and Dylan tickling the skins.

The only problem was that the rain was steady from when we left the Back Page, took a cab to 60th, walked too the subway, walked through the Village, and then took a cab back to Port Authority, where Dave's car was. He drove us back to Cliffside so he could see our apartment. It would've been a nicer day without the rain, but it was still great.

I'm a little tired, though, and not inspired to write anything poignant.

So bye.

Previous page: My dormant hobby
Next page: Speaking to some French girl who says she knows me well

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?