THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Dec. 28, 2001 - 8:48 p.m.

Be on the lookout for two portly cats

I think I was in the only bar in New York last night without a television. Not that I minded, but it just occurred to me now. I mean, you don't normally see that -- a bar without at LEAST a solitary TV hanging above the bar on one end.

My eyes have been irritated all day, and I wonder if it's still lingering effects of all the smoke from the enclosed spaces, or perhaps just the second-hand smoke from people sitting right next to me. Ah, but it was all worth it.

I found this story amusing:

FBI offers reward in $5 million ATM theft

NEWARK, N.J. (AP) - A Jersey City man is suspected of stealing $5 million worth of $20 bills he was supposed to use to restock automated teller machines, and the FBI is offering a reward.

Michael Schwartz, 36, whose last known address was on Jersey Avenue, is believed to have fled with the cash, which came from a California financial institution.

The bills weighed 350 pounds.

He owned and operated Direct Connect ATM and Schwartz Armored LLC, two businesses he established within the last two years, the FBI said.

He obtained a contract that required him to restock more than 160 "stand-alone" ATMs in non-bank locations throughout New York and New Jersey.

He was last seen Dec. 2, and is thought to be traveling with his two cats, named Bonnie and Clyde, in either a white 1998 Ford Econoline van with New Jersey license plate KMW59M or a

gray 1989 Ford Econoline van with New Jersey license plate JZE20T.

He is described as a heavyset white male with black hair, blue eyes and a beard. The FBI said both cats are Siamese and gray colored; one is fat and the other is obese.

A reward of up to $25,000 is being offered for information leading to his arrest.

Here at the office, people wondered how one cat could be obese and the other fat. Casey and I know. I find it amusing that a guy can just start up a business - "Mike's ATM Re-Stocking" - and get such trusting clients within two years. You'd think you'd want a more established institution to restock ATMs. This version of the story was also a writethru, re-sent to add descriptions of the cats. The cats, as if someone might positively ID the cats before the guy. Which, of course, could happen.

Three days left in the year, and I'm working only one and a half of them -- tonight and Sunday. Oh yeah.

Previous page: Just stuff about my day
Next page: Year in review

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?