THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, Dec. 13, 2001 - 8:28 p.m.

What are the chances he's really there?

What a weird day, at least emotionally. I'm going back and forth between content and miserable, and right now I'm feeling a little stuffed and silly.

I'm reading this report that says bin Laden may be surrounded in a cave complex and I'm skeptical. I mean, really, a day ago we have a report from the Christian Science Monitor saying he went to Pakistan 10 days ago, and today troops are advancing on him near Tora Bora? Could we be that fortunate? Could W be that lucky?

I'll believe it when his body's pulled out -- c'mon, face it, he won't let them take him alive. I have this image of the troops or fighters or whoever's got the complex surrounded advancing on the cave, entering, seeing a figure sitting in the shadows. They shout out to him in Arabic, demanding he put his hands up and surrender. He sits there motionless, ignoring them. So the troops advance slowly, creeping ever closer, until they are near enough to shine a light and see that it's some boxes and a mop covered in some robes with a note that says, "Suckers."

Greig here at work said, "He's probably in Jersey City" and I said HA! So when I went out to pick up dinner from the Italian place down the road, I told everyone I was going to look for bin Laden, and then began to explain what I'd do with the $25 million reward. Of course, it wouldn't really be $25 million because I'd have to give some back in taxes that would be used to build a missle defense shield that will probably never be used, and if it is, will probably not work anyway.

But what would the world be like if bin Laden were captured. Would the sun shine brighter tomorrow if we were to wake up to see every network airing coverage from Afghanistan, of a covered body being taken out of a cave? Would we all relax a little, knowing that the kingpin had fallen, that the main planner and financier of so much hate and distruction was no longer a threat? Sure, there will be followers and others who will think they can take up his cause in his name, but will they really have the organization and resources in this day and age to build a terror organization as successful? Thankfully, I don't think so.

It's really too early to tell, and I shouldn't be speculating so soon, but it's hard not to wonder. Like when you buy a lottery ticket for the $100 million jackpot and you start planning ways to spend the money. Or you go on a job interview and can't help but imagine what it will be like to start working there in a week. Or, considering what the calendar - or that date above - says, you imagine yourself 12 days from now opening your Christmas gifts and enjoying all your new stuff.

And I've suddenly just decided that it won't be Christmas this year if I don't watch Home Alone and Christmas Vacation, so I'd better rent or find the former somewhere because I don't know if NBC shows it anymore.

I ate too much pizza.

Previous page: I'm smarter than Casey
Next page: Altered skyline

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?