THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-08-11 - 9:40 p.m.

Neglected Thursday

For just a second today I had the feeling of autumn coming on. It really wasn't the weather, because it was overcast and humid all day, but as I walked from my car into work at 5 p.m., a breeze made it feel just a little cooler in my shorts and t-shirt and the dampness made it feel like fall. Maybe I'm just anticipating the college football season after looking through my Notre Dame yearbook this afternoon. Maybe I'm ready for autumn in New York. Maybe I'm tired of sweating.

Struggling through work here. Don't want to be here. My sister's off rafting and camping in the woods somewhere in Maine with my former college roommate and other people from the Boston chapter of the Notre Dame Alumni Club. I should be too. But, alas, I am here, a pointless Jets-Falcons preseason game on the TV to my right, the uneaten half of my baked ziti to my left, ready to go home and spend the night in the fridge until lunchtime tomorrow.

So, props to Molzo for the little drop-down menu bar there on the left. She has one on her site, and I liked the idea, so I borrowed it and adapted it. I don't think she'll mind ... BUT, if she does, she need only say the word and it shall be removed. Besides, she's listed there. I should probably make the names more clear, like either the person's or the diary's name, but that doesn't fit in with the whole road thing I have going here. So for now, it's the regions. And a few aren't diaries, so don't get confused. Consider it my favorites box.

The Lyrics Search Engine is asking people to name what they think is the most romantic song. I put my choice in. I went to the site because here at work we were trying to come up with a song with Thursday in the title. The rest of the days of the week are pretty easy. Completely off the top of my head, first ones to come to mind: "Sunday Morning Coming Down," Johnny Cash; "Monday, Monday," Mamas and the Papas; "Tuesday's Gone," Lynyrd Skynrd; "Wednesday Morning, 3 a.m.," Simon & Garfunkel; "Friday I'm In Love," The Cure; "Saturday Night's Alright," Elton John. BAM! And there's, of course, "Manic Monday," The Bangles; "Come Monday," Jimmy Buffett; "Sun Comes Up It's Tuesday Morning," Cowboy Junkies. But how about Thursday? Maybe I'll write a Thursday song.

I just want to keep writing about nothing so I don't have to go back to coding up baseball box scores. But I should since deadline's in an hour.

I have business cards now. Only two years and eight months after I became a full-time employee here. Yeah, I didn't ask about them for about a year, and then I didn't really need them when I strictly worked the desk, but I should've gotten on the ball when I knew I'd be covering baseball. So now I have like 1,000 and don't know where I'll ever use them. Maybe I'll just give them to anyone who asks.

If I come up with any more important bullshit, I'll be back.

Previous page: What D.C. does to me
Next page: Dreams 8/13/01

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?