THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Sunday, May. 19, 2002 - 11:09 a.m.

Sweet, sweet Jane

Not enough time in the day. Or, at least, not enough online time in the day.

I need to update; I need to write about last weekend before next weekend. (There's really not much happening this weekend.) But it was a busy week. I got to see Walker on Wednesday when the Cowboy Junkies came through New York. He's on this short, two-and-a-half-week tour with them as their merchandise guy, spending the whole show at the t-shirt counter (and as the t-shirt counter - ha!). So I switched Tuesday for Wednesday at work and went into NYC and over to Irving Plaza at 4:30. He was out front, digging underneath the tour bus, pulling out boxes of shirts and CDs from the luggage compartments. I helped him bring stuff in and inventory it before we went to dinner with the opening act, an upstate New York couple by the name of Richie and Jennie Stearns (I think they're here.)

At the little bistro we went to, Walker told me of his daily routine on tour, which usually involved a walk around whatever city they're in (which so far had been Detroit, Chicago, Columbus, D.C. and Philly). In Philadelphia, he treated himself to a big dinner.

"I spent $35 on myself," he said. "I took myself out."

"Did you get any action from yourself when you got home?" I asked.

"Did you wake up in the morning and hate yourself for it?" Richie asked.

"Did you try to sneak out without waking yourself up?" I continued.

"Is there going to be a second date with yourself?" Jennie wondered.

"If I call myself," Walker replied.

And there was more. It was laugh-out-loud funny, believe me. Guess you had to be there.

So we walked back to the club -- and Richie put another quarter in the meter by their beat-up Caravan. Such is the life for a small opening act on a small venue tour, driving around in your own van following the tour bus.

Inside, we listened to the Cowboy Junkies finish their sound check while Walker and I continued with inventory. At 7 we went outside to meet his friend Hillary and ducked into a dive bar around the corner for a pint before the show. Hillary and I waited for Casey and then went back in and hung out with Walker at the table, drinks in our hands. In the time we were gone, the AIDS awareness/prevention/free condom table had set itself up next to him, and we watched the creepy older man try to hit on the 20-something woman working the table with the skater dude. "Well, yeah, I was planning on getting laid tonight," said the bearded guy with the Michael Landon haircut.

When Cowboy Junkies came on stage, Casey and I went and stood in the crowded ballroom until I tired of it and we went and spent the rest of the show just outside of it near Walker's table. I've seen them enough, and it was a free show, so I didn't feel like craning my neck and standing on my toes all night. I did go back in for the final number of the night, "Sweet Jane," which I'd never seen them do live before.

And that was that. Casey and I left while Hillary stayed with Walker behind the counter.

I'll have to find time Monday or something to write about last weekend because I need to shower now and go see Star Wars at 1 p.m. with Dave and Gayle. I'm not wild about seeing it with the crowds, but I want to get it out of the way since Casey has no interest. I'm not a Star Wars nut, but I want to see these three in the theaters (I saw Episode I back in college -- god) since I missed out the first time around, with Episodes IV-VI.

And then I get to pick up Casey and the airport!

Previous page: Twenty-five without purpose or direction
Next page: May 23: The day many things changed

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?