THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Sunday, Nov. 23, 2003 - 6:01 p.m.

Stupid cold

I decided on Thursday morning that I needed to start running again, in part because I'm playing hockey with the guys from the paper tomorrow. Well, I didn't decide on Thursday I should start running (I'd decided that months ago), but on Thursday I went and did it. I was up, had some time before work, and laced up the sneaks and hit the pavement.

And I struggled. It was cold, and I did a loop around the block here that involves some hills. That and the cold air made it a tough route to choose for my return to harrier status. I made it about six-tenths of a mile (I discovered after I'd showered and measured the loop in my car on my way to work). On Friday, I got home early, while it was still light out, and actually made it back to the house, which is roughly eight-tenths of a mile. If I extend it by running on the street parallel to ours and come back down the next block, I'll get that mile. Next time.

Because there wasn't a next time yesterday. I woke up with a stupid sore throat, and went to bed last night with a true cold. Argh. Sniffle. Cough. Sneeze.

So I'm resting up and drinking my fluids and wondering if we have any cold medicine (at least there's Sudafed) so that I can still make hockey tomorrow. With a light week at work, everyone's basically been given a free day off either last week or this, and so I'm taking Monday to get a little exercise in. And on Saturday I'm supposed to join some friends in a charity touch football tournament.

We finally have a kitchen faucet that works correctly, though I still can't figure out why our digital cable requires us to watch the channel we're taping but Dad's doesn't. I thought I had it figured out, but it didn't seem to be possible when I got home. Must look again on Wednesday. And must look into TiVo again, now that there are two receivers that make watching one thing and taping another -- or taping two things at once -- possible.

I have to blow my nose.

Previous page: Button-fly jeans
Next page: Just a quickie

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?