THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2000-12-06 - 20:13:04

Another day in South Bend

SOUTH BEND, Day 2

Soft white snow falling
Across the frozen campus
December flurries

Still got it with the college chicks. Oh yeah. Two of Jessica's (she's my sister, have I mentioned that?) residents who sent her flowers for her birthday said, "Jess, your brother's hot." And they're juniors -- not like they're naive freshmen. It may be the first time I've ever been called hot -- cute, sure, several times, but never hot.

One of them, Colleen, I passed in the hall yesterday afternoon. I was coming out of Jess's room, and Colleen came down the hall and asked, "Are you Jess's brother?" I said yes and introduced myself and we chatted for a moment in the hallway. Later, when Jess was down the hall talking to them, the other, Kate, ws jealous that Colleen had already met me. Today, while I was in the room warming up from the cold and checking e-mail, Kate came by in flannel pajama pants and sweat shirt and stretched and yawned when I asked if I could leave a message or note for my sister. "Nah, that's OK," she said, and turned back to her room.

Later, Jess told me she didn't feel like introducting herself; she was embarrassed. But to me they practically looked the same with pretty blond hair, and I wasn't so sure it was a different person from the day before.

Previous page: Thoughts from a travel day
Next page: Leaving town

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?