THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2000-12-03 - 01:53:56

She wrote

Just got an e-mail from a college friend.

We were good friends. I suppose we are, but she's in Chicago and I'm in New Jersey. We worked on the newspaper together; she was two years behind me, and in our two overlapping years, we had some fun.

I had a crush on her. She had a boyfriend.

But aside from that, we were good friends -- we both knew that. That much we agreed on, even after I revealed my feelings (post-boyfriend) and she informed me she "never thought of [me] in that way."

I hadn't heard from her in months. Literally. In fact, I don't think I'd heard from her since I was in Chicago for a wedding in July and we got together for dinner. (There's probably a diary entry about it.) So I get an e-mail from her, with the subject "Catching up," thinking maybe she was writing to fill me in on recent happenings.

It was a mass e-mail.

I don't generally have a problem with those, since I often use the method myself when trying to communicate with a group of people a wealth of information or whatnot. But I think it was that this one ended with a list of personals -- one-line messages to various people who received the e-mail -- and I was not included that got me. It bothered me a little. She also mentioned that she recently was in Boston and New Haven -- close enough for me to have shot up for dinner or something to say hi (which is not beyond me, especially when good friends from far away are within half a day's drive). But I never heard from her. Granted, she may have been there for business or some personal reasons, and she may have only been there a day or two. But I used to think I might be informed of such journeys, being relatively close.

I wrote back and sarcastically told her I was hurt about not getting a call (at least an e-mail), saying, "Midwesterners just don't realize how close places are on the East Coast." Or something to that effect. (Midwesterners don't understand East Coast distances, that is a fact. I've had several funny encounters to both extremes, but I don't want to get into them now.)

And of course I write about this because I was sure I thought of her as nothing but a friend, but seeing her name in my inbox and expecting something a little more personal, but not getting it, I guess I still wish I had that crush. That is, with the hope she might feel the same way.

I guess I still like her.

Here's the story:

As I said, she and I worked at the newspaper for two years together (she starting as a freshman when I was a junior). We were good friends, and I grew to like her more than that. But she had a boyfriend, almost from the time I met her, so I kept all that other stuff to myself (I'm very respectful of that, having been burned once -- but that's another story). So I graduated, drove across country that summer, and stopped to see her at her (parents') place when I went through Chicago. It was so painful to leave after that visit, I knew I was in love.

But I kept it to myself for almost another two years, and saw her on various trips back out to Notre Dame. After learning she'd broken up with her boyfriend, I wrote her a letter in January (actually, a letter which I'd started, finished, and rewritten at least twice in the course of two years) telling her how I felt, and she called me to thank me but to inform me she had never thought of me in that way. Which was fine. I figured if I didn't take the chance, I would've regretted it more than the pain of being shot down -- which I expected to an extent.

And so I got over it, I thought, and when we got together this summer, everything was cool.

But that all ended tonight with that e-mail.

Previous page: "No, Aunt Bethany, those are the Christmas lights"
Next page: Love the traveling, hate the preparing

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?