THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-02-07 - 12:57 a.m.

Sorry, I'm not home right now

Holy crap.

I wasn't expecting the new D-Land layout here on the add entry page. I'm happy with it. I was tired of the old one; of course, I didn't know that until now. Sometimes you don't miss something until it's gone, sometimes you don't know you hated something until it's gone.

OK, so my point today ... I decided last night that today I would take all the "courtesy calls" that came today. First off, I don't know why they call them courtesy calls. A courtesy for whom? Not for those of us answering the phone, especially when they come right at dinnertime. And how is it a courtesy for the person (or computer) making the call, who nine times out of 10 (I would guess) gets hung up on?

So, while I'll normally lie to an average of four people a day who ask for me by name and say that I'm not in, I arbitrarily decided that today I would be in. Working at night and being home during the day, I have gotten used to telling people who can' pronounce my last name that I just stepped out.

And I got no calls.

Until 8 p.m., when I was trying to go out the door to a movie. But since I vowed I'd take the calls today, I spoke with the Sierra Club. Which made it even worse, because I like the Sierra Club. I mean, I am a little annoyed that I just sent them some money a few months ago, and now they're calling for more. But they have reason to; mainly that guy in the White House. So I listened to Sierra Club Guy talk to me about Dubya and the New Administration and how the environment is in dire straits, which it is. He wanted me to sign up for a monthly subscription thing, which I can't do on my salary with my loans, so I settled on a $40 gift.

It doesn't bother me to give $40 to the Sierra Club. I support what they believe in, the main area now being the Alaskan Wildlife Refuge in which Dubya wants to drill for oil. But there's only enough oil up there to last a few months, so is that worth tainting an otherwise pristine wilderness? Hardly. Let Dubya drill up more of Tex-ass.

So I thought about how I spend my money. I'll think nothing of donating to environmental causes (every now and then) or to certain other charitable organizations. And I had no problem putting down $75 for a pair of sneakers yesterday when I easily could have searched for something I like that was cheaper. But I figured $75 wasn' that bad for something I'll potentially wear six days a week. I'd balk more at paying $75 for a shirt I'd wear less often, but there's really no reason to. But that's the way I think.

I'd also hardly blink when buying $75 worth of CDs. That's been a problem for me and my continuously growing collection. I just can't help myself. But I've found a way to slow down: I have given up listening to the radio. I have three different bands on my car radio -- two FM, one AM. On the AM one I keep it set to WFAN, New York's all-sports talk station. One FM is set to NPR and the other to a New Jersey station that is mostly talk; when it's not, it's oldies so I have no urge to buy anything I hear. It's working so far; I even went into the CD store yesterday to pick up an album my mom asked for and had no urge to even browse.

Maybe I'm coming down with something.

Previous page: In hindsight, that would've been cool
Next page: Hotel fantasy

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?