THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, July 30, 2003 - 3:15 p.m.

Denver doldrums


From Idaho Springs, up Mt. Evans, down to Denver

If I were to ever move away from the coast and away from the large cities with a means to support myself comfortably and choose where I wanted to live regardless of a job, I'd probably try Denver for a little while. We all know that's not happening, but how much of anything will really ever happen?

Denver just screams for exploration. There's so much available out there in the mountains, to the west of the city, that allows for adventure and cozy, comfortable living. It was thrilling to drive my car to the top of a 14,000 foot mountain, and pretty amusing to feel cold in 40-degree air on a July morning.


So, no more old Beetles. Of course, unless you've been hailing cabs in Mexico City lately, you probably thought they were already done anyway. I did, until I read the article and remembered reading in 1996 how Volkswagen was going to only be manufacturing the Beetles in Mexico.

I was just handed the press kit for Spike TV's Ride With Funkmaster Flex, which I guess is sort of a Cribs-like show on "the first network for men" but about cars, rather than homes. (I found that out through a search because I didn't so much get the press kit as a model of an orange 1969 Dodge Charger � think the General Lee � that says "Collector's Edition Press Kit" on it but contains nothing but the die-cast metal model of the car. But I bet Ali, who gave it to me, has the rest of the kit and needs it for her section.) Anyway, Dad used to have a '69 Charger in dark green. We called it the Pickle Car because of its color. (As in, "Which car are we taking, the white car or the Pickle Car?") I barely remember it, except that I loved The Dukes of Hazzard, so therefore I loved the car (the model of Dad's car fell into the range of years that Universal used for the General Lee) and was upset when Dad sold it to Mom's cousin Nicky, who's a mechanic. I think Nicky either restored it and sold it, or used it for parts. It didn't run very well when Dad sold it. The worst part was that he could've sold it to Universal and they would've made it into the General Lee.

I wish I had a General Lee. Well, except for the flag on top. But the rest is so cool.

Previous page: From the desert to the mountains
Next page: Dear Sir: I can make shit up too

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?