THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Sept. 12, 2003 - 10:33 a.m.

Shocking news

I need to watch more than SportsCenter in the morning.

At least I listen to the radio on my drive into work, as short as it is.

But what's the saddest news today?

John Ritter? So young. So sudden. So shocking.

Johnny Cash? If I had known before I left the house, I would've dressed in black. You could even say this was expected, that it was going to come soon, what with his long battle with diabetes and his wife's death not long ago.

And I'm not trying to be funny here, because on any other day this week, this would've been terribly sad and disturbing news, but I just need to mention it. Apparently, lying, cheating scumbag Jayson Blair has a $500,000 book deal. And it's not to be a novelist.

The news of John Ritter, which I heard moments before Johnny Cash, was shocking enough. When the newscaster said "lost a long fight with diabetes," my first thought was Wilfred Brimley. But then I heard about the original Man In Black and felt my face go white sitting at the gas station.

Upon arriving at work, Frank brought up his father's death around the same age: He'd been at a wedding and had just finished a dance with a cousin. A good dancer, Mr. Frank finished off his last Lindy, kissed his cousin, and "stood like he was at attention, and fell backward." My own father survived a heart attack three years ago, and I know at least one close friend's father has also recovered.

I have to do some work, but I may get back to this later.

Previous page: So, why do you think you'd be good for this job?
Next page: Nintendo thumb

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?