THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Nov. 01, 2002 - 1:19 p.m.

Represen-in

It's sad that someone had to die, but I find it amusing watching (mostly) old, white, male newscasters say "Jam Master Jay" with a straight face.

Seriously, though, why would anyone shoot someone from Run-DMC? Who hates them? Doesn't like, oh, every rapper in the history of the world owe pretty much everything to them? Sure, today's "hip-hop" likely would've developed at some point to get where it is today, but you still need to rekignize the pioneers, foo. Yeah, black men would've eventually been allowed to play professional baseball at some point, too, but that doesn't mean we shouldn't revere Jackie Robinson.

I'm taking my lunch hour out of the office today (shortly, as a matter of fact) because I need to drop off a letter of complaint at the cable company, seeing as how it's taking them forever to figure out why they can't set up our cable in the new apartment. They have to do a "survey" to see why the computers show our apartment is already connected. Who knows when it will be resolved, but in the worst case, we leave one VCR in Edgewater to tape The Sopranos (and I pick it up sometime during the week) and we watch basic TV with an antenna for a few days. Alyssa brought one into work, so I won't be blacked out of the Notre Dame-Boston College game tomorrow, which is, of course, the most immediate concern. We have to watch something while we put together the coffee table. But I'm afraid that if I mail the letter I won't hear anything until next Friday. This way, they'll understand that I'm deeply annoyed at their idiocy.

I'm nearing my two-year Diaryland anniversary, and that is neat. It's next Thursday, but I'm not planning anything special. Just a quiet night, maybe some wine, an entry. That's about it.

So I downloaded my diary to my computer at work the other day, but when I opened the file, there were SO many problems. It seems that in some older entries in which I ended with some text in italics, I did not put in the "end italics" command, so that, in the downloaded file, every single word that followed was italicized. I had the same problem with boldface and centering. So now I'm going back through each entry to check for those sorts of things, with the hope that someday I will download, maybe even print out, my massive journal. That's the plan, anyway. And it will boost my stats too!

I wake up each day and look at the furniture in the room and think about how we'll have to move it on Sunday, and then I get scared. But there's no reason for that. We got it all up there, mostly dad and me (the small couch was Dave and me, and the desk came up in pieces), so we can get it back down. My one heavy dresser will be the toughest, I'm sure. It was rough to bring up. The mattress/box spring won't be bad; the couch won't be a problem; the desk might be cumbersome, but not a pain. I'm also wondering how "down" will work, because when it comes to moving furniture, "up" is easier to control things like balance and pace. With "down," if it slips or slides or gets out of hand, it could be a few steps before anything stops.

I also don't trust my estimation of space. That is, I hope everything fits easily up the stairs in the new house. I'm sure it will, but I'm afraid of overestimating. But once the professional movers get all of Casey's things in tomorrow, I'll know everything else will fit. We've done tougher moves before. In fact, I'm sure we could've gotten Casey's two big pieces up into the Edgewater place if Dave and I hadn't been so tired and weak the day we moved everything.

Alright, I'm off to the cable company...

Previous page: The greatest entry ever
Next page: New Apartment!

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?