THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, Oct. 28, 2002 - 9:43 p.m.

The Rally Monkey triumphs

I stayed up until nearly midnight last night to watch the final out of the baseball season, as I have for the last eight seasons ��at least. While there was no World Series in 1994, I remember watching the 1995 classic in college, rooting for the Yankees in 1996 (back in the day when they were underdogs), watching the Marlins in 1997. In 1998, I was out of college and a writer at the newspaper. I was tired of the Yankees that season ��they won so many damn games, and that's when Yankee fans started getting obnoxious again. Then, in 1999, I was on the copy desk at the paper, so I was forced to watch every Series from '99 through 2001.

But this year, I was free from the bonds of the night desk, and although it cost me the joy of being at work when the Angels beat the Yankees back on Oct. 5, I was free to watch (or not) the World Series on my own. So I tuned into parts of each game, seeing many of the major moments. I was happy to see the Angels put it away last night because they're a good story ��a group of mostly unknown players (when compared to the Yankees or the likes of Barry Bonds). I was happy to see arrogant players like Bonds and Jeff Kent lose.

I could've done without some of Fox's coverage ��like the director's cutting to the Giants' dejection too soon ��and the "commissioner's" posturing. You'd think the leader of baseball could give a post-game awards speech without reading from a sheet of notes. You'd think he could smile, or at least feign interested and happiness. Instead, Bud Selig just looks like a stiff. Which he is, of course.

My question last night, though, was if the Angels (a team owned by Disney) win, will they run the "I'm going to Disneyland!" commercials? It's only fitting, considering the theme park's parking lot is adjacent to the ballpark's.

* * *

Over the weekend, I became a little sad thinking about coming to work Monday and not having anyone to discuss the Notre Dame game with. There aren't just as many big sports fans here, at least not those with whom I've engaged in regular conversations. Don't get me wrong, I'd rather have my weekends off and be able to watch nearly every minute of the season (as I have) than catch bits and pieces of games and highlight shows and be able to talk about them more.

And then, a surprise. I walked into the office today, and Garry mentions the Irish straight off, and we talked for about 15 minutes about their season.

* * *

I don't see what the problem is with sending Lance Bass into space. In fact, I think such a program should be expanded. Send all members of boy bands into space. Let them see life on the International Space Station.

And then send the spaceship home.

* * *

The weather's all messed up here. Whatever it is, it has delayed the fall colors so that I feel there won't be much of a peak this year. It may have already happened out in the northwestern mountains of New Jersey, but around here there are a few brilliant oaks standing out against the green background of the late bloomers.

It's a shame.

* * *

The new traffic light on River Rd., the one that has been blinking for weeks, was turned on today (or over the weekend). I had a hunch it would be as I drove north along the river, and when I rounded the bend, it changed from green to yellow as I passed through the intersection. Great timing ��next week I'll be driving in from the new apartment, and won't be taking River Rd. That falls in line with Edgewater's decision to make the municipal parking lot a pay lot from 9-6 Monday-Saturday beginning Sept. 3; I only had to worry about it for about a week, what with my starting the new job here and not being home during the day.

* * *

The one thing I miss most about the old job is street hockey. They've probably played three times by now this fall, taking over a rink in central New Jersey on Wednesday mornings. It was always so much fun, even last fall when I was driving an hour from Edgewater to play, then going to my parents' house to shower if I was working that night, or coming home and showering before going to Casey's if I wasn't.

I thought of it today with my hamstrings still aching from Saturday. It's exactly how they would've felt after the first game of the fall. Unfortunately, I can't think of any way to make a game this winter without taking a day off from work. Maybe, when I can pin down a definite week they'll be playing, I'll take a sick day.

Previous page: Oh, whatta weekend!
Next page: Getting lost to find yourself

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?