THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Jan. 04, 2002 - 7:47 p.m.

Maybe a damn string around my finger

You'd better look out, because I'm gonna say "fuck."

You'd better look out, because I'm gonna say "fuck."

You'd better look out, because I'm gonna say "fuck."

YOU'D BETTER LOOK OUT, BECAUSE I'M GONNA SAY "FUCK!"

FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK!

OK. Whew. Glad to have that off my chest. It's nothing, really, it's just that I made a wonderful, taste, cheesy dinner of baked cheese ravioli with 8 oz. of melted mozzarella on top for dinner for Casey and me last night, and I had a good five or six ravioli left over to take with me for dinner at work tonight.

And as I exited the NJ Turnpike to get on the Parkway, I remembered I'd forgotten it. I remembered it all morning, when Casey left at 7:45, when I got up again at 11:30, and after I ate lunch. I thought about putting my car keys on top of the tupperware in the fridge so I'd remember, but I didn't. Then, somewhere in the shower, I forgot about the ravioli in the fridge. And I didn't remember again until 3 p.m. at Exit 11 of the NJ Turnpike.

So, in stopping at my parents' house for a few things, I swiped a mac-n-three-cheese dinner from the freezer and I'm going to go down to the microwave shortly.

Something I'd meant to mention the other day but didn't is that I finished the first Harry Potter book. I read The Sorcerer's Stone, but I know that it's really The Philosopher's Stone in Britain. And I know that a lot of other things were changed.

So yeah, I loved the book. I loved the movie, and I loved the book. I wanted to read it in a day to move up on Casey's Nerd O-Meter, but I did it in about three, and those three days were really three reading sessions. I know I can't approach Bassett's plane of reading the fourth tome in a day, but I think I can breeze through the remaining three.

Like Heather, I resisted the fad, the trend. I generally do, in all realms of life. I never owned a pair of cordouroy pants until I'd stopped seeing people wear them all the time. I held back on admitting how much I enjoy the Dave Matthews Band. I just don't like to jump on the latest bandwagon to say I have something in common with so many other people. It's not me.

But yes, the Harry Potter books are amusing. They are enjoyable. I read the first one after seeing the movie, a month after seeing it. And though I could understand what Casey and her mom were talking about as far as what was cut out, I didn't deem it necessary to my enjoyment of the film.

My favorite part was reading the end, when Dumbledore awards the final points to Gryffindor in the Great Hall, and everyone cheers when the banners change, and I felt the swell of excitement I remembered from watching the movie. How much of that came from reading and how much came from having seen the movie I don't know, but maybe we'll see when I get to the second book.

I also thought it interesting when I read about the robbery at Gringotts Bank. J.K. Rowling writes how Harry gets the feeling that whenever something bad like that happens, Voldemort is somehow involved.

And I thought how whenever something goes wrong at an airport or on a plane or a bomb goes off, we think that Osama Bin Laden is somehow involved. Bin Laden is our real-world He Who Shall Not Be Named.

And so I think there was more I was going to write about, but like Bassett, I read too many other diaries (and did some work here at work) that I don't remember what it was. Ah well, for next time then.

Previous page: If you drop a white die into ranch dressing, it's hard to find
Next page: Stay away from Andy-Margrets

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?