THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, April 5, 2004 - 7:39 p.m.

Pay it off, pay it all off

I've never been this excited to pay the bills before. But today, I dropped two months' worth of my car payments into the mail, so instead of having 14 months left to pay, I'll have 12. I hope to chip away at that every month or two and get it cleared from my record by the end of the year, if not sooner. It's the first time I've done what I've vowed to do and applied some (in this case, the bulk) of my federal tax refund to paying off some debts. Hooray for fiscal responsibility.

///

I kinda like when payday comes the day after the rent's due. I think if I ever own a company, I'll look into having paydays be the 2nd and 16th of the month, the way some companies do the 15th and 30th. A day -- nay, mere hours -- after writing that rent check (and, knowing our landlord, it was probably deposited by noon on the first), my paycheck was automatically deposited, boosting my balance with no imminent deductions for a week or so.

Of course, I went and spent a bit this weekend. Yesterday, Casey and I let our imaginations run wild at an art supply store. I picked up a cutting board and a matte cutter so that I can create mattes for photos and other frame-worthy things that aren't your standard 5x7 or 8x10. Oh, how the creative juices will flow.

The other thing I love about payday falling on the second day of the month is the three-check month. Getting paid every two weeks, I'll also get money on the 16th and 30th in April, which could allow for more chunks taken out of debts.

///

It's so perfect for me that the night the college basketball season ends -- tonight's national championship game between Georgia Tech and Connecticut -- is the day the baseball season begins. Alas, the Mets don't start until tomorrow, and at night at that, in Atlanta. Without taking notice of this start time, I purchased tickets a few months back for The Producers on Broadway. This was back when you couldn't get any tickets for the show for the run of Matthew Broderick and Nathan Lane, which was scheduled to end last night. But then there were rumors that they'd extend their second run until the end of April. So I bought the tickets based on that chance, which may just have been a publicity ploy for the show, and I fell for it. They're decent seats, though -- third row mezzanine or something -- for a good price, about $100 total. Though we won't get the superstars, we're getting the two replacements who weren't considered abhorrent bombs. So at least we've got that going for us.

///

Do the folks at Fox know what they're doing canceling Wonderfalls? Obviously not. It was entertaining enough to give it a chance through the end of the season and into the summer, at least. It's Fox's own fault for launching the thing on a Friday night.

///

The May issue of Stuff has a photo of Baby Jessica, who fell into a well in Texas when she was 18 months old and was down there for 60 hours before she was rescued. She's now 18. And hot. And showing her panties. Do they teach kids nothing down in the well?

Previous page: Too much to narrow it down here
Next page: Weird Al is not dead

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?