THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, Nov. 6, 2003 - 4:30 p.m.

Panel discussion

At a panel discussion on celebrity journalism last night, I once again was reminded that I love to write, I love the process of tracking down stories, interviewing people, writing, and seeing my work in print. It doesn't have to be famous people; I just like the craft.

The panelists � representing Biography magazine, W, People, US Weekly and a talent booking agent (for Letterman) � were mostly humble about what they do and weren't too arrogant or cocky. They didn't seem like their sole intensions were to find the dirt on celebrities and expose their dirty secrets. For the most part, they were journalists who enjoy the celebrity angle. I particularly liked the question that asked them who they were fans of or who would they most like to interview. Two of them � both men � said Madonna, with one going so far as to say he doesn't want to interview her because it would essentially mean the pinnacle of his career, and he'd be too nervous anyway. That's when the booking agent said Madonna would be on Letterman next Tuesday.

Everyone also said Jennifer Aniston is the sweetest, most honest celebrity any of them have met in years and she really is amazed that so many people watch what she does and that she has so much money.

I don't think celebrity journalism is where my future lies, but despite all the thoughts � none of them really serious � I have about other professions, I may just find my way back to byline status again.

Previous page: Sometimes I like the disjointed entries
Next page: Early New Year's resolutions

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?