THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-08-05 - 11:46 p.m.

I'm so open

I don't sleep most nights,
just lie awake and count my blessings.
I'll take this endless life of perfect pointless mornings.
I'll hold you till the morning comes 'cause it's all that I can do.
I'm so open. I'm so open.

"I'm So Open," Cowboy Junkies

I love that I can say anything. I love that I don't have to hold back for fear of saying the wrong thing too soon. I love that I do not have to fear what she thinks because I know what she thinks � she tells me as much as I tell her. I love that I can now go back to my Northeast Odyssey entries and add to the site the passages that heretofore were only included in the hard copy, the leather-bound journal that accompanied me on the trip.

I came to a subtle but important realization last weekend. It wasn't something I needed to discover but I'm glad I did, because it's just another thing that tells me this is right. Back on July 27th and 28th, my friend Michelle from Notre Dame came to visit. Originally from Chicago, she's down in D.C. now, taking a year-long grad course at Maryland. I had the biggest crush on Michelle in school. She's a close friend, and we have a lot in common, and for a time I'm sure I was in love with her. I wanted "Say Goodbye" to be about us.

But last weekend, I looked at Michelle and saw a friend. I hugged her and felt a friend.

Michelle's in D.C. My love is in Chicago.

Previous page: Making the Trip: Back home
Next page: Behold, the power of duct tape

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?