THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, Sept. 23, 2002 - 3:49 p.m.

Raise a glass for O. Henry

What made Saturday even more enjoyable was the postgame cavorting with Casey and her friend Erin, a grad school acquaintance from Chicago in NYC for a week of work here. I met them at Erin's company-provided Lower East Side apartment (near Union Square) and we walked up to Gramercy Park to visit Pete's Tavern for no other reason than the awning promotes it as "The Place O. Henry Made Famous." So I needed to see why.

First, inside it's a charming neighborhood pub, with a 30-foot bar in the front and booths and tables along the opposite side. There's a more intimate dining room in the back. Behind the bar, a sign declares this the oldest continually operating bar in the city, having not closed its doors since 1864.

But the best part is the display above one of the booths, one near the front door leading out to 18th St. (the bar's on a corner, and we entered through the door off Irving Place). It features a photo of O. Henry, several newspaper articles, and mentions that this was his favorite booth, and the one in which he sat when he wrote "The Gift of the Magi."

When we left, we walked west along 18th and came to another bar, the name of which now escapes me, but they had fabulous shoestring fries. Framed on the wall is an autographed cover of Nick Hornby's About A Boy. It was another warm, inviting, comforting tavern with a long bar, some tables, and room in the back for bigger groups and some dart-tossing.

Now I want to head back to the West Village and visit the White Horse where Bob Dylan (the first "Dylan" mentioned in the link) frequented and Dylan Thomas got drunk.

I think I'll spend a lot of free time during my time living near (and maybe someday in) New York visiting the watering holes frequented by famous literary figures. I'll get drunk where Kerouac did.

As I said to Casey and Erin on Saturday, I prefer these landmarks remain as they are. Down in the Financial District, near Federal Hall and the World Trade Center, is Fraunces Tavern, the place where George Washington bade farewell to his troops at the end of the Revolutionary War. Back then, the only inhabited part of Manhattan island was the lower tip, with little developed north of what is now Houston or some similar east-west lane. But today, Fraunces Tavern is a museum and no longer serving drinks. I have no desire to step inside.

Yet at a place like Pete's or the White Horse, stepping inside you can almost feel the history there.

Previous page: The Fight Is Back
Next page: I saw my ex-girlfriend's mom in Banana Republic

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?