THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Nov. 02, 2001 - 5:34 p.m.

Ugly Naked Guy in real life ... kind of

Standing there in Casey's room this afternoon, while she and Will and I talked of how to arrange the bookcase, or fix the Nintendo, or some other topic of domicile organization, I stood looking out the window down at the courtyard and over to Essex Street and the Light Rail tracks.

Then something across the courtyard caught my eye. It was someone in the corresponding apartment directly across from Casey's window, someone in the upstairs bedroom of another unit on the floor. The door to the stairs stood open, and a chair -- or perhaps, I thought later, a birdcage -- covered by a shirt or sheet were also visible through the window. I always notice people in windows, I suppose it's a sense of voyeurism or a bit of Rear Window curiosity in me. Moments after I noticed the moving figure in the window across the courtyard -- maybe 30 or 40 yards or so -- I realized what I was seeing and pointed it out to the others, "HEY!" I said. "There's a naked chick over there!"

But as they looked, she moved away, likely to get dressed after getting out of the shower. At least that's what I figured. Casey and Will did not see her.

"Wow," Casey said, "Do I have an Ugly Naked Guy?"

I couldn't be sure. But that sense of something in me kept me looking back at that window from time to time as we stood there discussing the courtyard area below.

And then I saw her again, partially obscured by the chair (or birdcage) and I realized that this was no get-out-of-the-shower-check-the-closet-while-naked afternoon. No. She was still naked. Making the bed. There were breasts visible (cheap mention just to garner more Google hits). Casey and Will looked again, though without his glasses, he saw nothing of the show. As the naked woman moved across the room and reached for something, Casey saw for herself.

"Yep," she said, "there's a butt."

So it was established today that Casey officially lives in a sitcom, as I soon will when I move in with two women in Edgewater. You just never see sitcom plots happen in real life.

I figure if we ever run into the naked woman in the hall, we won't recognize her -- you know, with clothes on and all.

And I wonder if we'll ever see her naked in the window again. I mean, after all, she wasn't bad-looking. Decent body.

But I can't dwell on it, you know, for obvious reasons.

Previous page: He's the hairy handed gent who ran amuck in Kent
Next page: Stop my head, I want to get off

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?