THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, Mar. 19, 2003 - 12:35 p.m.

I did my thing, dog

Since I didn't want to mix my final thoughts on the war (previous entry) with lighthearted joshing about American Idol, here's my second entry in the last 10 minutes, or however long it takes me to type.

If I'd have taped the episode last night, I think I would've broken it down into everyone's catch phrases or something to that effect. But I didn't, and I only have a few small observations to make.

All this was inspired by Randy Jackson's comments about Corey's performance, the first of the night. In his 80-second response, Randy said "dog" four times, an average of once every 20 seconds. I remembered at least two "dogs" from the show's introductions, when Ryan "Yes, this is an acid-washed-denim-style suit" Seacrest showed those old photos of RJ. We had six "dogs" and the show wasn't yet 15 minutes old, so I decided to keep track.

To my dismay, Randy added only six more dogs the entire night � two to Joshua and one each to Charles, Ricky, Kimberley Locke and Kimberly Caldwell. With Caldwell, he said it right at the end � probably, "You did your thing, dog." � and she responded, "Thanks, dog." Funny. But though the "dogs" only added up to 12 over two hours, I did catch two dudes to Ruben (plus a "dope") and two dudes to Clay. There were probably more, but I can be certain that the dog/dude count reached at least 14 over the roughly 88 minutes of air time (figure 22 minutes each half-hour), so that's one "dog" or "dude" every six minutes. But when you factor in that Randy only gets about somewhere from 80 seconds (and that's a very liberal estimate; I think it could be closer to 60 seconds) on air per contestant (11 contestants plus the photos gives you probably at least 12 minutes), that's more than one dude/dog per minute.

Simon was pretty funny, too, when he responded to Clay's performance of "Somewhere Out There" from An American Tail by pretending to be choked up and saying, "I just love songs about mice."

The tendency of the judges to fail to come up with one original thing to say about all but maybe three contestants a night is pretty amusing, and for some reason (please, PLEASE don't ask me why) I started thinking of it in the spirit of the John Madden Sex-A-Strator� (which you, dear readers, have made the fourth most popular entry in this journal, behind Crappy Kids' Drawings, my 250th Entry and Duff Man). Throughout last night's show, Casey and I kept paraphrasing Heather whenever Paula spoke and inevitably said something like, "You performed. On stage. In a blue shirt." Usually she said, "You got up there and you did your thing." Just once I'd like one of them to respond to a crappy performance by saying, "You got up there and you did your doodie. Dog."

OK, so anyway, I bet after sex it might go something like this...

RANDY:
You did your thing, dog.

Only it's not a real dog. (Eeeeeeew! You people are disgusting. How could you even think that??) Come to think of it, that must be Randy's all-purpose phrase. He probably uses it when he walks his dog. "You did your thing, Dog, now stop sniffing that other dog's ass, Dog."

PAULA:
You fucked me in bed. With a condom.

SIMON:
Well, it wasn't your best performance, but it was OK. I have to say it again: This year's group is so much better than all but three or four of last year's contestants. I think you've got what it takes, and I expect you to be even better next week. Now get off me, Seacrest.

Previous page: And that's all I have to say 'bout that
Next page: I'll let Bob explain

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?