THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Sunday, Sept. 09, 2001 - 5:55 p.m.

Mudvayne at the MoMA

The other day in New York with Casey, I thought to myself how I hadn't had a celebrity sighting in the city yet. I've seen Bon Jovi in Red Bank, Marilyn Manson in a Toronto mall, Dick Vitale on the Notre Dame campus, Muhammad Ali in the South Bend airport, but no random sightings on the streets of Manhattan.

So while Casey met again with the Rolling Stone people, I went over to the Museum of Modern Art and wandered through the Ludwig Mies exhibit and then moved onto the collection highlights (but just the paintings) to look at the Edward Hoppers, the Van Goghs, the Matisses, the Monets, the Picassos, the Kandinskys, the Jasper Johnses, the Pollocks. And as I moved into the room with the three large panels of Monet's Water Lillies, I noticed among the foreign tourists and New Yorkers and art students, one particular lime-green headed dude. He was hard to miss, with that hair and the black clothes. I just kind of smiled to myself and moved on.

And now today, while eating nachos and watching (yet another) rerun of the MTV Video Music Awards, the MTV2 Award went to Mudvayne. As the camera found the band sitting in their seats, I remembered them as the fuscia-tinted, mohawk-styled punk band I'd spotted on Thursday during the original live broadcast. And one guy had lime-green hair.

"That's the color hair of the guy I saw at the MoMA," I told Casey. Then I looked closer. "Wait! That is the guy I saw at the MoMA!"

"Hooray!" Casey said. "You saw the drummer from Mudvayne at the MoMA!"

So, yeah, I saw the drummer from Mudvayne at the MoMA. You can see him here.

I had to ask her four times, though, to tell me the name of the group again, because I've never heard of them and don't think I'd enjoy their music. On top of all that, I forgot the name of the band and just now had to go find it on the MTV site.

I'm so lame.

Previous page: Such a night
Next page: New York City

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?