THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, Feb. 25, 2002 - 10:10 p.m.

Making up for lost writing

I forgot to add some things to my last entry, but since I've been lax with my writing lately, I'll just make another one - twice the fun!

I was planning on taking off tomorrow. I'm off from work, and I was hoping to hit the road and explore remote, hilly northern New Jersey. Once the morning's fog burns off, it's supposed to be a mild, sunny, mid-60-degree day. In February. Anyway, I was going to head out to the mountains (such as they are) and do some walking, do some hiking, do some climbing, take some pictures. I haven't shaved since Friday (just laziness), and so I was picturing a self-portrait of a grizzled Dano on a sun-drenched rock on some hillside above the trees. I'm itching to shoot again, and didn't want to wait until New Orleans this weekend - though there will be plenty of picture-takin' going on then.

But, just as good, we're playing hockey tomorrow. Our weekly street-hockey games have been on hold for a few weeks while one of our only two goalies recovered from an illness. But he called last night declaring himself fit to play, so ... GAME ON! It will be a wonderful morning for it, and then I'll head back home to await the dim-witted UPS guy who insists on coming in the afternoon when we're not home. Well, we weren't on Friday, and today he managed to come when I was in the shower - he had a three-hour window (according to the notice left Friday) and he picks the 15 minutes when I can't hear him, even though the bathroom is right next to the front door. Damn him and his brown truck! It is a much-anticipated package because it contains the software sent from Verizon that will enable us to utilize our DSL connection when it is activated on Monday (or, hopefully, sooner).

I've also got to go home and look through some photos for a project, and I really need to continue the blind resume mailing to resolve this problem of my annoying job.

And it just occurred to me that I need to determine what to do in terms of getting to work next week. Casey and I return late Monday, so I'll stay at her place that night. But I work on Tuesday (switching with Fred here so that I have Sunday off without having to take a personal day, and therefore only need to use one for the three-day vacation) and do I really want to go from Jersey City north to Edgewater, then south to Neptune? I'm packing for the weekend tomorrow and leaving it at Casey's on Wednesday, when I'll be staying there after the Notre Dame-St. John's game. That way she can pack my things and hers in one suitcase on Friday. I'll probably bring a bag for next Tuesday as well so that I can just go from Jersey City to Little Silver before work. Then I can get online (oh, which I'll be able to do from Edgewater then, anyway) and get a job. In theory. Actually, even though Edgewater will be wired next Tuesday, it's probably better that I go to L.S. because I could get held up in all the excitement of the new connection at the apartment.

This is just me, the ideas flying around in my head.

Maybe there'll be even more later.

Previous page: New Orleans! It burns in our brains
Next page: Caught in the TV spiral

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?