THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2003 - 12:48 p.m.

Entry of little substance

This is my 648th entry, so I have 352 until 1,000. If I continue to update once a weekday (five days a week, folks), it will take 70 weeks and two days, and I'll hit No. 1,000 in something like 492 total days from now which, with the leap day added, is June 4, 2004. So we'll see how close to that date I come because those calculations do not take into account any days in which I update twice, or any weekend days on which I may update. Nor to they account for vacation time when I might not have access to a computer, like in two weeks when I go to Florida.

As you can see, I really have nothing to say. In fact, I'm typing this right into the Diaryland box, rather than on Simpletext or Word first so as to avoid any accidents like those that have befallen several D-landers of late.

I had a dream the other night that I forgot to mention: My friend LJ had written a story for my magazine as a freelancer, and I was fact-checking it. The lawyers were being all anal about his facts and wanted all the backup to go with it. LJ faxed or mailed me something like 200 pages with all the information, and I forwarded it on to the lawyers. Heh. That was a nice dream. I can't stand how picky the lawyers can be sometimes. My god, imagine if newspapers had lawyers checking all the stories to make sure they were "sue-proof."

A couple of years ago I decided I had too many books I hadn't read. So in trying to change the ratio of read to unread books, I set out at the start of the year trying to tackle one book a week � or at least average one book a week. So if one particular tome took me two weeks to complete, I tried to throw in a short work and tackle two in the following seven days. I created a file on my laptop and tracked what I read.

I made it into late February or early March. But I'm going to try again this year. So far, I've finished only one, Nick Hornby: Songbook, but I'm nearing the end of The Best American Travel Writing 2001, which is good, because I have both the 2002 version and the 2002 version of The Best American Non-Required Reading to tackle, but I've mentioned that before (in that same Nick Hornby entry). One reason I'm dedicating myself to crossing books off my lists is I picked up two new collections of Kerouac essays � Atop an Underwood and Good Blonde and Others � and every time I go to bed and see them on my nightstand, I want to pick them up and tear through them. So after I finish the 2001 Travel Writing, it's back to Kerouac for a while. Maybe I'll read him all the way until his 81st birthday, March 12. I try to read On The Road once a year, and I missed last year. It's also been too long since I read The Dharma Bums and maybe it's time I finished Desolation Angels and Dr. Sax from college.

Previous page: The lure of the (fictional) White House
Next page: Quickies

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?