THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Nov. 12, 2004 - 9:56 p.m.

I bought Klondike bars, and now I want one

So there's this 59-year-old great-grandmother in Georgia who's going to have twins next month.

There were just a few jokes made at work today.

But do you think the Daily News really had to mention that she made the comments "from her mobile home"?
And then on the way home, I was a few cars behind a small tour bus. In big letters on the back it read:

KUM GANG

That seems a little unfortunate. But apparently, it's a restaurant in Queens too.

And on Tuesday this week, I had the second somewhat awkward run-in with a co-worker. First, a week or so ago, I turned the corner of our cubicle setup as I was walking to my desk. I also had to ask her something, so I started talking as I neared her work area. She quickly double-clicked the web browser she was using and dragged it to the bottom of the screen, and as I tried to look away, I managed to catch a glimpse of the title in the bar: "Could I Be Pregnant?"

Oops. Sorry.

And then on Tuesday, when I was off, I was wandering aimlessly through Target, picking up a few things on my list, but also zig-zagging up and down the aisles to see if there was anything else I could come across that we might need. After getting toothpaste, I slowly passed the aisle where the condoms and other such items are. Though I was gazing down the aisle and looking more or less at eye level, she was crouching, looking on the lower shelves, saw me first, saying, "Hiiii ... Dan ..." before getting up and walking from the condom end of the aisle to where I was. I had continued walking past the aisle, but I stopped to say hi, then went on my way.

So that's twice now I've inadvertently embarrassed her while trying to act like I didn't notice anything. I hope I pulled it off, because I don't want her to feel all weird about anything.

La-dee-da. So that's what's been going on this past week. Other than the whole move thing last Saturday. (Oh, and by the way, NOTRE DAME 17, TENNESSEE 13. That was big, in case you didn't know. WOOO!) But the move went well, and we've done a lot in the subsequent six days to make this place presentable to the dinner guests we'll have starting Wednesday. Tomorrow, a bit of shopping: Target (together); Bed, Bath and BEYOND!!!!; Lowe's and IKEA. Maybe even some frame hanging on Sunday. And then I hope to get some pictures up too.
Off you go, then.

Previous page: The List: 101 in 1001
Next page: Oooh! I want that, and that, and that, and that ...

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?