THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-02-24 - 9:30 p.m.

Karin's voice

Karin Bergquist's voice slides softly from my speakers, floating subtly through my car: underneath Margo Timmins' lyrical lead, enmeshed with Mike Timmins' guitar chords, juxtaposed with Alan Anton's bassline, interspersed with Pete Timmins' drum beat ... I find I'm falling in love � with a new voice, a new singer, and it's the same as falling in love with a woman. I'd seen her once, last February, at a concert in Washington, D.C. She stood back in the shadows on stage, disappeared into the wings of the 9:30 Club, emerging to play guitar or sing backup. Over The Rhine is her regular gig; this was a supplement.

I want to hear her loud and clear, unobstructed and in front � but for now I'm happy with what I've got, the hidden backing vocals I have to find myself from the melody of "Southern Rain" or "Dark Hole Again" rising from the 1999-2000 Cowboy Junkies tour compilation, Waltz Across America. It's more unique, more rewarding to catch the strains I do and imagine them drawn out, a cappella, featured. It's like looking at a beautiful person in a revealing outfit, the hint at what hides underneath � the slender legs, the strong shoulders � but being happy with the vision from your own imagination rather than losing the mystery too soon by having the secret revealed in its entirety.

It's exhilarating when music makes you shiver, when the words ring so true you wonder why you hadn't written it down first; when the notes meld into melody and open your eyes, calm your heart, stir the creativity inside to create something � anything � on your own.

I've found that combination again for a moment, playing softly in my head while outside it � here, in the office of a bustling suburban newspaper on a frenetic Friday night, there is no peace. Only chaos.

But release comes tomorrow, four hours down the road, a weekend in Washington, miles from my home ...

And I'll see you on the other side.

Previous page: For an uneventful day, a long entry
Next page: D.C. Journey: 14 Beers

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?